UK Law

Get UK Law Questions Answered by Verified Experts

Ask an Expert,
Get an Answer ASAP!

This answer was rated:

I ordered 5 items online, and paid for them. there then

I ordered 5 items...

I ordered 5 items online, and paid for them. there then followed a series of emails from the seller, sayting that the item was being 'tested', and that one of the colours I asked for was not available, and offered more of another colour I had asked for, which I accepted, and which was sent, although did not arrive till after christmas. I mentioned my disappointment in the feedback, and the seller offered me £5 compensation. I had paid £37.00. Should I accept the £5? I have already suggested to the seller that they should not offer items for sale until after any 'testing', and then sellers will not be disappointed.

Lawyer's Assistant: What state are you in? It matters because laws vary by location.

I am in the UK

Lawyer's Assistant: What steps have you taken so far?

Nothing other than register my disappointment, and suggest to the seller that £5 seemed very little. He came back to me this morning asking what I would see as a solution....

Lawyer's Assistant: Anything else you want the lawyer to know before I connect you?

No thats about it....

Show More
Show Less
Ask Your Own UK Law Question
Answered in 2 minutes by:
1/16/2018
Ben Jones
Ben Jones, UK Lawyer
Category: UK Law
Satisfied Customers: 51,227
Experience: Qualified Solicitor
Verified

Hello, my name is***** am a qualified lawyer and I will be assisting you with your question today.

Ask Your Own UK Law Question
Customer reply replied 7 months ago
Hello Ben.

Did the seller agree to dispatch the items by a specified time, hence they arrived after Christmas? Also, when you realised that the product was being tested and was unavailable in the colour you required, were you offered a refund at that time at all?

Ask Your Own UK Law Question
Customer reply replied 7 months ago
No, I don't really want to pay anything more... I actually just wanted to find my answer online if possible, stumbled upon this website by accident, without realising that it would involve any payment at all,.
Customer reply replied 7 months ago
Am just checking the emails from the time...

OK no problem at all. I will wait for you to get back to me with this information. Thanks

Ask Your Own UK Law Question
Customer reply replied 7 months ago
No, I was not offered a refund, I was offered a colour of which I had already ordered, and which was available.

OK, thank you for your response. Leave it with me for now and I will review the relevant information and laws and get back to you at the earliest opportunity. There is no need to wait here as you will receive an email when I have responded. Also, please do not respond to this message as it will just push your question to the back of the queue and you may experience unnecessary delays. Thank you.

Ask Your Own UK Law Question
Customer reply replied 7 months ago
The order was first placed on 7th December, and as the items were Christmas Wreaths, then I rather thought that the seller understood that I would like them for before Christmas.

Many thanks for your patience. Whilst I can certainly understand your frustration in the circumstances, the arguments here will be more from a moral background rather than a legal one. Of course, we should not expect sellers to sell items which are not immediately available, or they should at least tell you that is the case before you order so that your expectations are managed properly. However, if they do sell you an item which ends up not being available, that does not give you rights to seek immediate compensation because the issue will very simply be resolved by offering you a refund or replacement. If you were initially offered a replacement, which you did not want, then you could have asked for a refund and cancelled the order. They have offered you a small token gesture of compensation and to be honest that is actually more than what they are legally obliged to do. Whilst it may not look ideal, you did not have to accept the replacement product offered and if you wanted to stick with the original purchase and it was unavailable you could have just pushed for a refund.

I trust this has answered your query. Please take a second to leave a positive rating by selecting 3, 4 or 5 stars above - this is an important part of our process and recognises the time I have spent assisting you. If you still need me to clarify anything else, please reply on here and I will assist as best as I can. Thank you

Ben Jones
Ben Jones, UK Lawyer
Category: UK Law
Satisfied Customers: 51,227
Experience: Qualified Solicitor
Verified
Ben Jones and 87 other UK Law Specialists are ready to help you
Ask your own question now
Customer reply replied 7 months ago
Thank you very much for your reply.... having done some research on the Sale of Goods Act myself, then that is pretty much the conclusion I came up with. I will respond accordingly to the seller. Thank you for your thorough reply, I will leave relevant ratings for you too.

you are welcome and all the best

Ask Your Own UK Law Question
Was this answer helpful?

How JustAnswer works

step-image
Describe your issueThe assistant will guide you
step-image
Chat 1:1 with a solicitorLicensed Experts are available 24/7
step-image
100% satisfaction guaranteeGet all the answers you need
Ask Ben Jones Your Own Question
Ben Jones
Ben Jones
Ben Jones, UK Lawyer
Category: UK Law
Satisfied Customers: 51,227
51,227 Satisfied Customers
Experience: Qualified Solicitor

Ben Jones is online now

A new question is answered every 9 seconds

How JustAnswer works:

  • Ask an ExpertExperts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional AnswerVia email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site. Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction GuaranteeRate the answer you receive.

JustAnswer in the News:

Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.

What Customers are Saying:

A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks!

RickLeeds, UK

I did not know a French Law service existed and I was very impressed with the speed of reply --- very professional. Many thanks!

Ms. BakerAlfafar, Spain

Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great!

MaggieUSA

Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help.

Mary C.Freshfield, Liverpool, UK

This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!!

AlexLos Angeles, CA

Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult.

GPHesperia, CA

I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion.

JustinKernersville, NC

< Previous | Next >

Meet the Experts:

Ben Jones

Ben Jones

UK Lawyer

51,227 satisfied customers

Qualified Solicitor

INC

INC

Solicitor-Advocate

3,868 satisfied customers

LL.B, Pg.Dip, LL.M, M.B.A (Pending), Solicitor-Advocate. UK Practising Certificate issued by SRA., DIFC Courts Registered (Dubai)

Jenny Mackenzie

Jenny Mackenzie

2,760 satisfied customers

Over 10 years experience in general legal matters

Matthew J

Matthew J

Solicitor

334 satisfied customers

4 y PQE (Partner) - Commercial / Residential Property & Property and Civil litigation experience

James Mather

James Mather

7,349 satisfied customers

Senior Partner at Berkson Wallace

Clare

Clare

Solicitor

9,513 satisfied customers

family solictor with 25 years experience

Thomas

Thomas

Lawyer

2,177 satisfied customers

BA (Hons), PgDip, Practising Solicitor

< Previous | Next >

Related UK Law Questions
I am a registered business seller on Ebay UK. I sold a
I am a registered business seller on Ebay UK. I sold a guitar to an Ebay buyer in Spain, the guitar arrived in perfect condition but after 2 days the buyer decided he didn't like it and raised a retur… read more
Jamie-Law
Jamie-Law
Solicitor
Bachelor of Laws (LLB)
6,998 satisfied customers
, We are a small online business that sells products
Hello, We are a small online business that sells products all around the globe.. A customer is unhappy with a product, and we have offered him a full redund and to keep the product as well. He had a s… read more
James Mather
James Mather
7,349 satisfied customers
hi, having purchased a tablet (similar to ipad) used off of
hi, having purchased a tablet (similar to ipad) used off of someone on ebay here in the uk. it stopped working after a day and is now dead and will not power up. the seller refuses to help even though… read more
UK-Justice
UK-Justice
Master's Degree
10,176 satisfied customers
I recently purchased a Jaguar XF with 4200 miles from the Jaguar
I recently purchased a Jaguar XF with 4200 miles from the Jaguar dealer in Manchester. After approx 1000 miles I noticed that the drivers leather seat is losing its colour in two areas. Derby Jaguar h… read more
Jo C.
Jo C.
Barrister
Master\u0027s Degree
38,236 satisfied customers
brought bedroom furniture on the 6/4/12 and was told all would
brought bedroom furniture on the 6/4/12 and was told all would be with us and put together on site on the 17/5/12. only the bed came, that we were already told to put it together ourselves which was f… read more
Jo C.
Jo C.
Barrister
Master\u0027s Degree
38,236 satisfied customers
WE bought a adjustable bed from a com. Pure Independent at
WE bought a adjustable bed from a com. Pure Independent at a price of £3500. Com.delivered, erected on 11/10/2011. After a month we noticed one side of bed frame was loose and out of line.After removi… read more
Ben Jones
Ben Jones
UK Lawyer
Legal Practice Course
51,227 satisfied customers
On the 20 Nov., 2011 I was a successful bidder and won a painting
On the 20 Nov., 2011 I was a successful bidder and won a painting on eBay. However, when I received the painting the colours of the actual painting were not exactly as shown on the posted image on eBa… read more
Ben Jones
Ben Jones
UK Lawyer
Legal Practice Course
51,227 satisfied customers
i sold a engine in working condition 5 weeks ago for cash now
i sold a engine in working condition 5 weeks ago for cash now the person who bought it says it has a fault and wants money back but i think im being done over what can i do?… read more
Ben Jones
Ben Jones
UK Lawyer
Legal Practice Course
51,227 satisfied customers
I have just bought a new car and after one week of ownership
I have just bought a new car and after one week of ownership have noticed that it is the wrong colour - a subtle difference in type of black - and want a replacement. What are my rights please? The or… read more
Jo C.
Jo C.
Barrister
Master\u0027s Degree
38,236 satisfied customers
I bought a ring from a jewellers shop, stating that I wanted
I bought a ring from a jewellers shop, stating that I wanted a strong blue gemstone. The ring I was shown looked ideal, but that evening its colour changed to purple shades, which was not what I requi… read more
Alice H
Alice H
Solicitor of the Senior Courts
Bachelor\u0027s Degree
2,008 satisfied customers
I am a salon owner we had a client come in for a colour on
I am a salon owner we had a client come in for a colour on Tuesday this week she returned yesterday complaining of staining to the forehead she said she had tried all kinds of things to remove it incl… read more
Jo C.
Jo C.
Barrister
Master\u0027s Degree
38,236 satisfied customers
i bought an item on ebay for 99p and now the seller is refusing
i bought an item on ebay for 99p and now the seller is refusing to sell me the item for the price i won the bidding at. Ebay user agreement and also the winning contract means they should respect the … read more
cmd2008
cmd2008
Solicitor
Bachelor\u0027s Degree
43 satisfied customers
Hi My son swopped his car for another, on the day the swop
Hi My son swopped his car for another, on the day the swop was made the police stopped him for a vehicle check as the car was prodominantly white but dvla had it down as black, they impounded the car … read more
Jo C.
Jo C.
Barrister
Master\u0027s Degree
38,236 satisfied customers
Hi. I bought a suite in February 2009 and all was well. It
Hi. I bought a suite in February 2009 and all was well. It has slowly change colour and the agent for the manufacturer has said that this is colour transfer from our clothing because we have been sitt… read more
ivorylounge
ivorylounge
44 satisfied customers
Hi, I have recently bought a mobile phone for 300 on ebay
Hi, I have recently bought a mobile phone for £300 on ebay and after 3 weeks it has failed to arrive in the post. I have been in touch with the seller and his response is as follows: "The item was adv… read more
ivorylounge
ivorylounge
44 satisfied customers
Hello purchased pair of Vivienne Westwood shoes from a seller
Hello purchased pair of Vivienne Westwood shoes from a seller on ebay, paid uk seller with paypal , payment out with ebay, received shoes 12 days later, shoes were wrong colour, very poorly made, clea… read more
F E Smith
F E Smith
Bachelor\u0027s Degree
3,000 satisfied customers
purchased freezer on ebay with 6 month warranty,failed to work
purchased freezer on ebay with 6 month warranty,failed to work and replaced ,replacement just failed and defrosted with full contents ,seller refuses to refund any info appreciated… read more
Jo C.
Jo C.
Barrister
Master\u0027s Degree
38,236 satisfied customers
I rencently was working in a live-in job and had a registered
I rencently was working in a live-in job and had a registered post package worth three hundred pound sent. but before it arrived I had left the employment and am currently in dispute with the employer… read more
lawsolved
lawsolved
Bachelor's Degree
1,484 satisfied customers

DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.

The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).

DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.

The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).

Show MoreShow Less

Ask Your Question

x