Thank you for using Just Answer. I look forward to helping you.
It depends on how the case was resolved. Under state law, a misdemeanor arrest record generally can be expunged if there was no conviction and either (1) the time limit for beginning prosecution of the offense has run out, or (2) a prosecution was begun, but the case was ended by dismissal, acquittal or motion to quash. If you were convicted, it is different.
In Louisiana, adult arrest and conviction records for an arrest that resulted in a conviction usually can not be expunged. A "conviction" exists if you pled guilty or were found guilty. A "no contest" plea is a "conviction." There are a few limited exceptions. You may be able to get a conviction expunged if you were specifically placed on probation under Article 893 or 894 of the Louisiana Code of Criminal Procedure, successfully satisfied your probation and had the sentence vacated.
Assuming you are eligible, the filing fee is around $350-$500, depending on the parish (the court should be able to tell you). While it is not required that you have a lawyer represent you, if you did so, while lawyer fees vary, figure paying between approximately $800-$2000, including filing fees, for a lawyer's help.
Please remember to kindly leave a positive rating for me by clicking on the stars, as that is the only way experts are paid for their time even though you may have already paid a deposit to the site. Follow-up questions asked in this thread do not cost anything additional after leaving a positive rating.
If you need clarification about my answer or additional information, please use the SEND or REPLY button to continue our conversation. Your satisfaction is my goal and I am here to help!