Speeding Penalties and Fines
I am a CT driver with 3 speeding violations in NY in an 18 month period. The final ticket is due. What speeding penalties do I face?The state of New York does have stiff penalties when convicted for speeding. The speeding statute is Section 1180 of the Consolidated Laws of New York:
• for up to 10 miles per hour over the posted speed limit, by a fine of $45 to $100
• for 10-30 miles per hour over the posted speed limit, a fine of $90 to $300, or by imprisonment for up to 15 days, or by both fine and imprisonment
• for more than 30 miles per hour over the posted speed limit, by a fine of $180 to $600, or imprisonment for up to 30 days, or both fine and imprisonment
• For two or more convictions for speeding within an 18 month period, the maximum fine provided above may be increased by an additional $150 and/or 30 days imprisonment
• If there are three or more convictions within an 18 month period, the maximum fine provided above may be increased by an additional $375 and/or 30 days imprisonment.
Judges do have the ability to impose the maximum fine but there is always a possibility that you could receive a lesser penalty.
I got a reckless driving ticket in my residential development in South Carolina. What is the usual speeding fine or penalty?In South Carolina If you have no prior offenses you would be looking at just a fine. A reckless driving ticket’s penalties can be punished by a fine of $25-$200 or a jail sentence of not more than 30 days. Reckless driving is classified as any person who drives in a way that shows a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of people or property. Your driver license can be suspended for three months upon a second conviction.
I have a speeding ticket/reckless driving in Virginia. The fine is undetermined until I appear in court. What speeding penalties should I expect?In Virginia, reckless driving is a serious offense. The points that you will get on your record will stay there for 11 years. That is equivalent to driving under the influence or vehicular manslaughter. You can also face up to one year in jail, fines up to $2500, and license suspension for up to six months. Reckless driving ticket is a misdemeanor which is more serious than just a traffic ticket. Insurance rates typically are increased dramatically for reckless driving convictions.
I received a speeding ticket, violation code 40-6-181, in Catoosa Co, Georgia for $410. I was clocked doing 65 miles per hour in a 40 miles per hour zone. Is the speeding penalty excessive?Based on the violation code 40-6-181 that you have provided penalties increase dramatically if the speed limit is exceeded more than 25 miles per hour. If the speed was exceeded by more than 19-24 miles per hour, the maximum fine would be $150. Exceeding the speed limit by 24-34 miles per hour raises the maximum fine $500. Keep in mind that administrative costs are also tacked onto the fine.
In the state of Texas if a child who was pulled over for driving alone with a learners permit can the officer issue a citation for a drivers license restriction since this child only had a permit? Also, what would the speeding penalty be?In this case if a child was convicted this would be a misdemeanor offense. This child can also expect a maximum fine of $200 and also a suspension of their driving privileges. See: Texas Transportation Code 545.424 and 521.461. If this child decides to fight the case and wins then there would be no penalties or suspension.
Having the right information about speeding penalties for your state can help when dealing with questions about your speeding penalties. Experts can help answer questions about what the maximum speeding penalty for your state is or if there are certain speeding tickets that have a graver penalty. Get the answers fast and affordably by asking an Expert.