Questions on Revoked Driving Licenses
Can an individual apply for a license in Florida if their license was revoked in the State of Illinois?An individual may not be able to apply for a license in Florida till he/she gets his/her license reinstated in the State of Illinois. Both Illinois and Florida, being a part of the Driver’s License Compact, will honor each other’s decisions on license suspensions and other traffic offense penalties. Hence, Florida may not give the individual a license till it is reinstated in Illinois.
For how long will an individual’s license be revoked for “driving under the influence” in the State of Kansas?In some cases, an individual’s license can be revoked for a period of 30 days in a “driving under the influence” case in the State of Kansas if it is a first time offense. If it is a second or third offense, the license may be revoked for a period of one year.
Can an individual be charged with “driving with a revoked license in an accident” if no police report was made?An individual may be charged with “driving with a revoked license in an accident” even if a police report is not made. Driving when the license is revoked is typically considered a misdemeanor. The authorities may have a period of one year to punish the individual for this offense.
Would an individual’s license in his/her home state be affected if it is revoked in another state?In most situations, if an individual’s license is suspended in one state, it may get revoked in his /her home state as well since most of the states are members of the Driver’s License Compact. However, some states like Tennessee may not be a part of the compact and, as a result, if an individual’s license is revoked in Tennessee, it may not affect his/her driving privileges in his/her home state.
Would an individual’s license be revoked in North Carolina if he/she was caught driving 15 miles more than the legal speed limit?In some situations, an individual’s license may be revoked for a period of 30 days if they are caught driving 15 miles over the legal speed limit in the State of North Carolina.
Would it be considered a felony if an individual is caught driving with a revoked license in Illinois?Most of the time, if an individual’s license is revoked due to a “driving under the influence”, “leaving the scene of a fatal accident” or “reckless homicide”, this can be considered to be a class 4 felony if the individual is caught driving with a revoked license. If the individual is caught for a second time, he/she can face imprisonment for a minimum period of 1 year and a maximum period of 3 years.
How can an individual get his/her license reinstated in Washington?An individual may try to get his/her license reinstated online by visiting https://fortress.wa.gov/dol/dolprod/dsdreinstatements/. If the individual does not want to do it online, he/she may have to go to the Washington Department of Licensing and ask them for the process to reinstate the license.
Would an individual’s license be permanently revoked if he/she were to get 3 “Driving While Intoxicated” (DWI) charges within a period of 5 years?In most situations, an individual’s license may not be permanently revoked if he/she were to receive 3 DWI charges within 5 years. However, the individual may lose his/her driving privileges permanently if caught again for a DWI, making it the fourth charge.
The rules and penalties regarding revoked licenses may be different in different parts of the US. It may be difficult for you to find out about these rules and penalties on your own. Sometimes, even if you are aware of the rules and penalties, you may not know the process to reinstate a revoked license. In such situations, it’s better to consult with an Expert who can offer you insightful information both quickly and at a reasonable cost.