Reckless Driving Misdemeanor Questions
What is reckless driving?What is reckless driving? Reckless driving is a serious traffic violation within the United States. Reckless driving is looked at as a mental state where an individual is unable to abide by the traffic road rules which results in a traffic accident. When being charged with reckless driving an individual can be looking at serious punishments such as fines, prison, and even their driver’s license being suspended.
If a minor receives a speeding ticket for going 30 miles per hour over the speed limit can this result is a suspended driving license?In this case and many others, the individual could be looking at a suspended driver’s license because of how much they were going over the posted speed limit. When going before the judge, the judge can also change the charge to reckless driving which is considered a misdemeanor. In most cases at times when individuals proceed 25 miles per hour over the legal speed limit, this is frowned upon by not only law enforcement but also the judge.
In the state of California if an individual was driving 91 miles per hour in a 65 speed limit zone would this be considered a misdemeanor offense?In the state of California and in some cases but not all this would not be looked at as a misdemeanor but instead an infraction. Normally, in order for someone to receive a speeding misdemeanor their must also be charged reckless driving or connected with a speed contest. If the individual was only charged with a speeding ticket, they will not be looking at a misdemeanor charge. When an individual is charged with going 26 miles per hour or more over the legal speed limit, they can be facing fines and charges around $400.
In the state of New York if someone was issued a charge for reckless driving is this a misdemeanor and what charges could they be facing?According to the New York Vehicle and Traffic Code 1212 states that “Reckless driving shall mean driving or using any motor vehicle, motorcycle or any other vehicle propelled by any power other than muscular power or any appliance or accessory thereof in a manner which unreasonable interferes with the free and property use of the public highway, or unreasonable endangers users of the public highway. Reckless driving is prohibited. Every person violating this provision shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.” So in this case, the individual in fact has been charged with a misdemeanor that will be punishable up to one year in jail and a fine no less than $300.
In the state of Virginia what is the punishment for a reckless driving misdemeanor charge?The state of Virginia looks at reckless driving as a class 1 misdemeanor. This charge is a criminal offense that can be punishable up to six DMV points and a fine up to $2,500 and possibly jail time up to 12 months. Along with the jail time and fines the individual could lose their license up to six months. A reckless driving charge can stay on an individual driving record for 1 year. The state of Virginia sees that reckless driving is a criminal act, and that any individual even law enforcement, security officers can be punished for reckless driving.
When charged with a reckless driving misdemeanor, you may not know where to turn. Whether this is a first offense or if you have been charged with reckless driving many of times, the penalties are still serious. When you find yourself in situation of reckless driving and need more information about this topic you can contact an Expert for answers to your specific situation.