Drug Possession Laws
Can an individual who is arrested twice for drug possession be appointed a public attorney if the individual cannot afford a lawyer?If an individual cannot afford a lawyer, they may request for a public attorney when they appear in court. The individual may also have to complete some paperwork and will be appointed an attorney if they qualifies.
Can an individual obtain a license to start their own car lot if they were convicted of drug possession 15 years ago?An individual who was convicted of possession 15 years back may apply and get a license to start his/her own car lot.
What is the punishment for marijuana possession in the state of Illinois?Possession of 2.5-10 grams of marijuana may be considered a misdemeanor in the state of Illinois. If an individual is convicted, they may have to face up to 6 months of jail time and a fine of up to $1,500 or more. If the individual possesses less than 2.5 grams of marijuana, then they may face up to 30 days of jail time and a fine of the same amount. If the individual is convicted for the first time, the individual may face probation for 24 months. The charges may be dismissed if the individual successfully completes the probation.
How can an individual file a drug possession charge?In order to file a possession charge, an individual may have to call the police or the county prosecutor’s office and report it. He/she may not be able to file the charges on his/her own. He/she may only inform the authorities about the possession.
For how long can an individual be kept in county jail without an indictment if they are arrested for drug possession in Texas?As per the laws of Texas, an individual arrested for possession may be kept in jail without an indictment until the last day of the court’s next term after their arrest or till the 180th day after they have admitted to the crime or commits to the bail, depending on whichever comes later.
How can an individual get their license back if it was confiscated for nonpayment of fines in a possession case?The only way an individual may be able to get back their license is if they pay all the fines and penalties. One of the most common methods that the government uses to ensure that people pay fines is confiscation of driver’s licenses for nonpayment. The individual may contact the county court for information on the amount that the individual needs to pay and then make the payment.
The governments and law enforcement authorities may put forth different laws to deal with different crimes. Each state may have different laws that deal with possession. These set of laws determine the action that will be taken against an individual and the penalties that the individual may have to face if they are charged with possession. Awareness about laws governing possession of drugs can be helpful if you are charged or arrested for possessing drugs illegally. You can ask an Expert if you are confused about these laws or need further information about them.