How can a vehicle that is less than 25 years be legally imported into the United States?If a vehicle is less than 25 years old this vehicle would then need to be legally imported into the United States. The vehicles are required to meet the NHTSA regulations and the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards regulations. If the vehicle has met the NHTSA regulations, the vehicle can then be imported into the country and registered by an importer. If the vehicle fails to meet the NHTSA guidelines, then the vehicle will need to be made compliant by the RI within 120 days of being imported into the country.
Is the authorization of the NHTSA required to deactivate the airbags from a vehicle?The individual may need authorization from the NHTSA to deactivate the airbags from a vehicle. In order to do so, the individual may fill up the “Request for Air Bag On-Off Switch Form”. Once the form is completed, if the individual qualifies for the relief from the airbags according to the rules put forth by the NHTSA, he/she may be given an authorization letter which the individual may submit to his/her mechanic to deactivate the airbags.
How can an individual report defects in the power steering of a vehicle making it unsafe to drive?The individual may report any defects in the power steering of a vehicle to the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHSTA) and check for any prior recalls. He/she may also speak to a civil litigation attorney and submit any report that he/she may have from mechanics to prove his/her claim about the defect in the vehicle.
According to NHTSA, what is the minimum fine that an individual may have to pay if he/she exceeds the speed limit by 30 miles per hour?According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, an individual maybe required to pay a minimum fine of $100 if he/she drives 30 miles over the legal speed limit.
What is the right to speed laws in the state of Iowa?According to the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration regulations, there is no right to speed laws stated in the state of Iowa. However, in some situations, a speeding citation is not always enforced if it is issued to an individual who is travelling less than 10 miles per hour over the legal speed limit.
Can a highway patrolmen use a laser to measure the speed of a vehicle without it being posted in the state of California?According to the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration regulations, a highway patrolman has the right to use a laser in order to measure the speed of a vehicle without the speed limit being posted in California.
Should the dealer of the vehicle repair malfunctions for free if the model of this vehicle has been recalled on many different occasions?According to the NHTSA, if the model of the vehicle had been recalled because of safety issues on previous occasions, then the dealer can repair the vehicle free of cost. If the dealer refuses to repair the vehicle free of cost, the individual may contact the State Attorney General’s office for assistance.
There are many aspects of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration that may be very difficult for many individuals to understand. These many different laws and requirements often lead individuals to many complex questions; you can always consult an Expert if you have any questions regarding the NHTSA.