Employment Law

Employment law questions? Ask an employment lawyer.

Ask a Lawyer, Get an Answer ASAP!

Minimum Wage Laws

For many in the workplace or in employment, many legal questions that arise typically pertain to Minimum wage. They can range from minimum wage and tips, state minimum wage, and what is minimum wage. When faced with questions like these people may turn to the Experts online for insights or solutions for their problem. Listed below are five of the top Minimum Wage questions.

What does Minimum Wage mean?

It’s what the company is legally eligible to pay their employees at the lowest set wage, monthly, or hourly rate. That is the lowest wage that the personnel might sell their manual labor. In a lot of jurisdictions minimum wage laws are an outcome there are dissimilar beliefs about the reimbursements and disadvantages of a minimum wage. Cohorts of minimum wage say that it intensifies the ordinary of living of employees, decreases poverty, and forces companies to be more proficient.

What’s the difference between state minimum wage and federal minimum wage in the state of California?

In the state of California minimum wage is regulated by both state and federal minimum wage laws. The result of this is that when there are incompatible necessities in the laws, the owner is required to pursue the stricter pattern; that’s usually the main one that is useful to the worker. California’s present law entails a superior minimum wage rate than the federal law does. All of the companies in the State of California who are issued to both laws are required to pay the state minimum wage rate except if their workers are excused by California law.

What is the minimum wage and tip credit for a waitress in Delaware?

Delaware Department of Labor states that the minimum wage for a individual that gets tips is $2.23 per hour. According to the DOL website workers that get tips; 1. The lowest cash wage payable to workers who get tips is $2.23 an hour.

Is there a minimum wage for a salaried position?

If the workers are salaried, they are required to be paid the lowest amount of the minimum wage. If the person seperates their actual annual pay by the exact hours that they had worked. The original full-time worker gets 2,080 hours a year.

Is there a minimum wage for commission only employees in NJ ?

The commission based sales employees are excluded from the minimum wage and later on the laws with the Fair Labor Standards Act. People can visit this site for more information. http://www.dol.gov/esa/whd/regs/compliance/fairpay/fs17f_outsidesales.pdf

Minimum Wage is a very diverse topic. It can span one question after another. There are additional questions that could come up. Such as: minimum wage and commission, minimum wage by state, and minimum wage law. Experts can help with questions like this fast and effectively.
Please type your question in the field below

3 verified Employment Lawyers are online now

Employment Lawyers on JustAnswer are verified through an extensive 8-step process including screening of licenses, certifications, education and/or employment. Learn more

Online
Allen M., Esq.

Employment Lawyer

Juris Doctor, Cum Laude

★★★★★
13763 positive reviews
Online
Marsha411JD

Lawyer

Doctoral Degree

★★★★★
12708 positive reviews
Online
JB Umphrey

Lawyer

Juris Doctor

★★★★★
6273 positive reviews
See all Employment Lawyers