Questions about Legal Marriageable Age
Thousands of questions on marriage are answered on JustAnswer every day. Marriageable age is just one part of these questions. Given below are the top questions that are asked about the marriageable age on JustAnswer.
What are the laws of marriage for a pregnant 15 year old?The marriageable age may differ from state to state. Some states allow pregnant teens to get married without parental consent. In states like Florida, Kentucky and Oklahoma, the underage couple must have authorization from the court to get married. Teens should be at least 16 years of age to get married in states like Maryland. Some other states like Georgia allow a pregnant teen to get married without parental consent if she submits a statement from an authorized physician that she is pregnant. In such situations, even though parental consent is not required, the court will usually inform the parents or guardians that a marriage license has been issued. In most cases although parental consent may not be needed, a court approval will be needed if even one of the persons getting married is 16 years of age or younger.
What rules should a married minor abide by?Many states in the US permit minors to get married provided they are at least 16 years of age and have parental consent. However, this does not mean that the minor is now free from other rules that are set by the court. The minor will still have to follow certain rules for minors set by the court like no smoking and attending school regularly.
Marriageable age in Wyoming if an adult wants to marry a minorThe state of Wyoming usually allows an adult to marry a minor provided the minor is at least 16 years old. The marriage should normally be approved by court and either the parent or guardian should give written consent to the marriage.
Can one of the parents stop underage marriage if the other parent has given consent?Marriage of minors between the age of 14 and 17 is allowed in some states like Texas, if there is a written consent from at least one of the parents. However, if one of the parents wants to stop this marriage, they can go to court and fight the other parent on their decision.
What happens to an underage marriage in Virginia?Marriage laws differ from state to state in the United States. In some states like Virginia, Iowa and Wyoming, an underage marriage will not usually be approved by a court. Getting married to someone who is not of marriageable age can be recognized as invalid by the court and can lead to annulment of the marriage.
If you or one of your loved ones is an underage contemplating marriage, questions and doubts about the legality of the marriage are natural. Once you have all doubts about the laws concerning underage marriage cleared, you can enjoy your wedding more. Lawyers on JustAnswer frequently answer questions about marriage and other family law related topics like divorce, legal separation, child custody and child support. Ask a Family Lawyer on JustAnswer to clarify your doubts and answer your specific questions quickly and affordably.