Traffic Law

Have Traffic Law Questions? Ask a Traffic Lawyer Online.

Ask a Lawyer, Get an Answer ASAP!

Questions on Driving with a Suspended License

Driving with a suspended license may be considered to be a criminal offense punishable with severe fines and jail time. Many times, individuals are unaware of the fact that it is a criminal offense and treat it like a small traffic violation. This results in further punishments and suspensions. That is why it is important for people to understand the severity of the offense and know what to do when they are caught driving with a suspended license. Given below are important questions about this offense that are answered by the Experts.

What is the punishment for “driving with a suspended license” in North Carolina?

“Driving with a suspended license” may be considered to be a class 1 misdemeanor in North Carolina. The individual may have to serve jail time for 1-45 days if this is his/her first traffic offense and pay a fine. In most situations, the individual’s license may be suspended further for another year if it is a first time offense. If the individual is caught a second time, his/her license can be suspended for a period of 2 years. The license may be revoked permanently if he/she is caught again for a third time. If the individual fails to appear in court for the hearing, he/she may also have to pay an additional fine of $200.

Would an individual’s probation period get affected if he/she was caught “driving with a suspended license”?

In some cases, it could be considered a violation of probation if an individual is caught “driving with a suspended license”. In most cases, the individual’s probation may be revoked even if he/she is not convicted.

What is the penalty for a first time offense of “driving with a suspended license” in the state of Kansas?

A first time offense for “driving with a suspended license” is classified as a class B misdemeanor. If convicted, the individual may get up to 6 months in jail and his/her license may be suspended for an additional 90 days. However, if it is a first time offense the court may offer the individual a deferred prosecution. This means that the charges against the individual may be dropped if he/she pleads guilty and does not commit any more traffic offenses for a period of at least 6 months. In some situations, the individual’s charges may also be lowered.

What would happen if an individual does not appear in court for a “driving with suspended license” hearing?

If an individual does not appear in court for a “driving with a suspended license” hearing, the court may put out an arrest warrant in his/her name. The individual may contact the traffic court to find out if there is a warrant in his/her name. The warrant will not be removed till the individual goes to court.

What is the punishment for a first time offense of “driving with a suspended license” in Michigan?

“Driving with a suspended license” may be considered a misdemeanor with a punishment of 93 days in jail, $500 in fines and a $500 driver responsibility fee for a period of 2 years in the State of Michigan.

Would it be a criminal offense to be caught “driving with a suspended license” in Illinois?

“Driving with a suspended license” in Illinois may be considered to be a criminal offense and the individual may be charged of a misdemeanor. The punishment for this offense may be up to 1 year in jail or a fine of $2,500 or both.

What consequences would an individual face for “driving with a suspended license” in California?

The traffic law in California may consider “driving with a suspended license” to be a misdemeanor punishable with 5 days to one year in jail and a $500-$2000 fine.

Depending on the state you live in and the number of instances you have been caught, the punishment and fines for “driving with a suspended license” may be different. You can end up in more trouble if you are not sure of what you need to do when charged with this offense and ignore the charges. If you are unaware of the various legal consequences of “driving with a suspended license”, you can consult with an Expert who can offer you information both quickly and in a cost-effective manner.
Please type your question in the field below

3 verified Traffic Lawyers are online now

Traffic Lawyers on JustAnswer are verified through an extensive 8-step process including screening of licenses, certifications, education and/or employment. Learn more

Online
Ely

Attorney

Juris Doctor

★★★★★
557 positive reviews
Online
Dimitry K., Esq.

Attorney

Doctoral Degree

★★★★★
532 positive reviews
Online
LawTalk

Attorney

Juris Doctor

★★★★★
358 positive reviews
See all Traffic Lawyers
JustAnswer in the news:
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.