Disorderly Conduct Laws
What are Disorderly Conduct Charges?Disorderly conduct is a charge that the police officers give to a person that loses their cool and gives the police officers a hard time. Disorderly Conduct consists of behaviors that are reckless and unacceptable from people that are in the custody of police officers. Disorderly Conduct is an offense that can result in consequences such as fines, possible jail time, and other consequences if the person is convicted. Some examples of Disorderly Conduct include being drunk in public, disturbing the peace, using profanity, loud music or noise violations, and fighting.
Can the city charge a person with Disorderly Conduct, obstruction of justice, resisting arrest and avoid police officers, if police chased that person into another county?Hot pursuit is an issue when police officers are in pursuit of a person that a flea to another nearby jurisdiction and the law enforcement officer does not have the opportunity to contact the proper officials about entering that area. Usually when a police officer enters another jurisdiction; there are steps to take in order to make sure the investigation goes smoothly. If the police officer is chasing a suspect and that person enters another county; the officer can proceed to pursue without contact the proper law officers. The hot pursuit statute gives permission to officers to continue to catch the suspect. Once the person, is apprehended, that person can be charged in both jurisdictions.
If a person is given a ticket for Disorderly Conduct; why was the person given this particular charge?SECTION 16-17-530. Public Disorderly Conduct: “Any person who shall
(a) be found on any highway or at any public place or public gathering in a grossly intoxicated condition or otherwise conducting himself in a disorderly or boisterous manner,
(b) use obscene or profane language on any highway or at any public place or gathering or in hearing distance of any schoolhouse or church or
(c) while under the influence or feigning to be under the influence of intoxicating liquor, without just cause or excuse, discharge any gun, pistol or other firearm while upon or within fifty yards of any public road or highway, except upon his own premises, shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined not more than one hundred dollars or be imprisoned for not more than thirty days.”
What are the penalties for Disorderly Conduct in New York State? Is it a violation or a misdemeanor?A Disorderly Conduct charge is not a crime. A Disorderly Conduct charge equals to an ordinary traffic ticket. The person is allowed to enter a plea of being guilty to the violation that may have occurred. The Disorderly Conduct charge will not give a person a criminal record at all but, it will appear as a violation on a person’s background check. If found guilty, consequences range from having a fine up to $250, 15 days of possible jail time or a possible warning.
What is the fine for Disorderly Conduct in AZ? Are the charges the same as consuming alcohol in public?Disorderly conduct by Arizona law is a Class 1 misdemeanor. If the person is convicted then the person could end up with having up to 6 months of jail time and/or a fine that could add up to $2,500. If it is a person’s first time offense then the person will maybe have only a fine with no time in jail. On the other hand, a public intoxication charge is different; being charged with public intoxication can lead to a Disorderly Conduct charge if the person doesn’t act in a proper manner. Being charged with public intoxication can land a person with up to 7 days of jail time and a $500 fine.
These are just some of the answers to commonly asked questions about Disorderly Conduct charges. People may have been charged with a Disorderly Conduct violation may not understand what it is. Experts are here to help with a conflict that a person may have with this topic.