Questions on Careless Driving Law
What is careless driving?Careless driving may sometimes have a lesser punishment than reckless driving but that does not mean that careless driving is any less serious. When an individual is driving carelessly, it can cause many accidents and even death. Examples of careless driving include speeding, driving too slow, using the wrong lane when turning, making illegal lane changes, driving too close to the rear end of another car and getting distracted while driving either by texting or by talking on a cell phone or to other individuals in the car. Careless driving can also include instances when the driver fails to use their turn signals or when they are simply not paying attention to the road or to the other drivers around them. Given below are a few questions on careless driving answered by the Experts.
What is the careless driving penalty in the state of Montana?The state of Montana has a law that states: “61-8-716. Careless driving- penalty (1) A person who violates the provisions 61-8-302 is guilty of the offense of careless driving and, except as provided in subsection (2), is punishable as provided in 61-8-711. (2) A person whose violations of the provisions 61-8-302 results in the death or serious bodily injury of another person shall be punished by a fine in the about not exceeding $5,000, by incarceration for a term not to exceed 6 months, or both.”
Careless driving vs. reckless driving.According to statute 316.1925 careless driving is “(1) Any person operating a vehicle upon the streets or highways within the state shall drive the same in careful and prudent manner, having regard for the width, grade, curves, corners, traffic and all other attendant circumstances, so as not to endanger the life, limb or property of any other person.”
The statute 316.192 for reckless driving states: “(1) (a) Any person who drives a vehicle is willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.”
In the State of Pennsylvania, can a person be convicted of careless driving and serve jail time?In the State of Pennsylvania, the Vehicle Code for careless driving is a very serious offense. If and when an individual is careless driving and they cause death or serious injury to another individual, the individual could be looking at a punishment of $500 even if the individual has caused death to another individual.
An individual received a careless driving ticket in the State of Missouri. In spite of the judge placing a Suspended Imposition of Sentence on the ticket, the State of Arkansas says they won’t remove the conviction from their driving record. What can the individual do to correct their record in Arkansas?The individual will need to request a certified copy of the Missouri record that states the individual does not have this conviction. The certified copy will need to have a seal as well. After this is obtained, they will need to file a complaint with the Arkansas Department of Motor Vehicles, along with a copy of the certified record, and send it through certified mail. If nothing is done within a certain amount of time, the individual can sue the Department of Motor Vehicles and request the court for a “writ of mandamus”. The court will then force the Department of Motor Vehicles to take the required action.
Careless driving is a serious offense that is punishable by law. However, the law varies from state to state and an individual who is charged with careless driving may not always know what the consequences are. To find more information on the law, consult with an Expert who can offer professional insights to help you handle your case both smoothly and efficiently.