Real Estate Law
Have Real Estate Law Questions? Ask a Real Estate Lawyer.
Hello. My name is***** am an attorney. I will review your question. I may need to clarify facts first. I will answer & we can discuss issues.
Towing could be considered proper storage until the tenant removes the property. There are other issues too. In Kansas landlords must store possessions for 30 days and at least 15 days before sale or disposal, attempt to notify the tenant. Unlike most other states that require the notice to be mailed or delivered personally, Kansas law requires landlords to publish the notice in the local newspaper. After 7 days from publication, the landlord must mail a copy of the published notice to the tenant’s last known address. In the meantime, the landlord is suppose to store the property is a safe place. All proceeds from a sale go to the landlord. The tenant may reclaim the property during the 30-day period or at any time before you get rid of it -- but only if they pay you for the costs of storing the property, preparing the property for sale, and any other outstanding debts, including back rent. Separately, if a tenant damaged rental property, the landlord can sue the tenant. We can continue to discuss if you want to do so.
Hello again! Checking in to see if you need further help. Your satisfaction is my goal, and I'm happy to answer a related follow-up question you may have. If I have not answered your question completely or missed a question, please let me know and I will attempt to answer it. If you are satisfied with your answer, please provide a positive rating between 3 and 5 stars for the service I provided to you. Best regards.