Real Estate Law

Have real estate law questions? Ask a real estate lawyer.

Ask a Lawyer,
Get an Answer ASAP!

I am drafting covenants to sign with my neighbor, who owns…

Customer Question
I am drafting covenants to...
I am drafting covenants to sign with my neighbor, who owns two undeveloped lots adjoining mine. The lots are +/- 12 acres each, located in northern New Mexico in a high dessert environment. I have compiled the draft covenants from different covenant documents I found online. I would like an attorney familiar with NM real estate law to review and correct my document for any loopholes, weakness or inconsistencies and suggest terms that I might have overlooked. The document is 1,600 words and will be supplied in Word format, as well as a plat of the three lots.
Submitted: 2 years ago.Category: Real Estate Law
Show More
Show Less
Ask Your Own Real Estate Law Question
Answered in 1 hour by:
2/13/2016
Real Estate Lawyer: Legalease, Lawyer replied 2 years ago
Legalease
Legalease, Lawyer
Category: Real Estate Law
Satisfied Customers: 16,440
Experience: 13 years experience in RE Law, including LL/Tenant, contractor disputes, comm'l prop. issues
Verified

Hello there Barry --

-

Just Answer is a general legal question and answer service and for the amount posted, the attorneys will review a specific question / situation for a customer and provide an answer based upon the question asked and the information provided. That service is provided specifically through this CHAT function with the customer.

-

We are happy to take the matter further and provide telephone conversations with customers and provide additional services such as document review and comments -- but such services are provided at an additional cost to the customer. I am familiar with NM law ( I practiced in the southwest for several years) but will need more information regarding the uses of the properties and the reasons for the covenants before I can make an assessment for you as well. I can give you an estimate for the cost of these services if you send your documents to my email at marymeaden at comcast.net. Once you receive the estimate for services, if you do not wish to proceed then let me know and I can re-post your request on the open board to see if perhaps another attorney will pick it up and provide services for a smaller amount than I have requested.

-

MARY

Ask Your Own Real Estate Law Question
Customer reply replied 2 years ago
Thank you for your response. Please release and repost my request.
Real Estate Lawyer: Legalease, Lawyer replied 2 years ago

Hello again Barry --

-

As per your request, I am releasing this question so that other attorneys can review the question and give you a price quote for Additional Services on this matter. I suggest that you post the covenants that you have already written so that any attorney who wishes to give a quote for Additional Services will have as much information as possible so you will not get any surprises on the monetary amount of the quote.

-

I wish you the best of luck with this matter and all other matters.

-

MARY

Ask Your Own Real Estate Law Question
Customer reply replied 2 years ago
Dear *****. I am confused. Just Answer says that you "answered my question" but you have only given me a quote. Have you collected money from "Just Answer" for giving me a quote?
Real Estate Lawyer: Legalease, Lawyer replied 2 years ago

Hello Barry -

-

I have received nothing for giving you an estimate in this matter. Experts are not paid anything at all unless you press a positive rating in the ratings section above, which I would have asked you to do if we had finished the matter and I reviewed the materials. At this point, I opted out of the question (which tells Just Answer that I am no longer involved in the matter and permits other experts to offer quotes to you if they would like to do so). THat is probably why they told you that I answered your question.

-

At this point, any deposit collected by Just Answer from you is on deposit for any point where you might press a positive rating for another expert. You can ask to close out the question and receive your money back if that is what you wish to do at this point. I have no control over that and you would have to contact customer service to ask for a refund and that your question be closed for future review. Their telephone number is(###) ###-####

-

I DID opt out and placed your question and request for quotes on the open board again AND I even sent it via email to several of my Just Answer colleagues so that your request would be seriously considered by our attorneys. The few colleagues I am friendly with and close to here at Just Answer were not interested in that much work for less than about $500 (and you thought my quote was high -- LOL). I can also tell that several other attorneys here have opened up your question and reviewed it but none have made another offer to you for this document review / covenant review. You see, all of the experts on Just Answer are independent contractors and we are permitted to accept or decline questions as we see fit and none of us is forced to offer quotes for additional work (many attorneys will not even look at such work and will only come in to answer questions. I am one of the few who has an online practice and work from a home office so I am more flexible and I can consider such requests from customers and I can offer reasonable hourly rates because I do not have the overhead that some attorneys have with outside leased offices, etc).

-

So, NO, I have collected nothing for giving you a quote or for the time I have spent interacting with you AND for the time I have been trying to get someone else to consider performing this work for you for less than $300. I have been doing that for you as a favor and as a customer service to you. I am sorry that I have not been successful but at this point if you want to cancel the request you are welcome to do so. I am not offended by your suggestion that I have received a payment for the quote because I realize that the Just Answer system is extremely vague and they try to hide from customers their method of payment to the experts because if we legitimately answer a question and the customer forgets to return to give a positive rating (it happens more often than you would realise), then Just Answer keeps the entire payment rather than splitting it with the expert after the customer gives a positive rating. And, it is against the "rules" of Just Answer for an expert to go back into a question to remind a customer to press a positive rating (we are also not permitted to tell customers that we are not paid anything unless a positive rating is received from the customer). By forcing us to comply with these "rules" most experts are only paid for about 50 to 60 percent of the questions that they answer. And Just Answer keeps everything else unless the customer requests a refund.

-

You, my friend, are now educated on the ways of Just Answer and you will and should request a refund for this question. Simply tell them that there was nothing to offer a rating on because I did not finish the question with you and no other expert picked it up to answer or make you an offer within a reasonable time period. Even if you request a refund from the Just Answer website, if I happen to get any interest from any of the colleagues that I emailed I will put you in touch with them via the private email method and not through the JA website. You should probably decide yourself regarding how much you are willing to pay for such services -- not just for our interactions but if you are going to seek the same services on any of the legal websites that might offer document review and revision services (I believe legalzoom will do this type of work but I am not sure). The quote I suggested was really as low as I could go with it because I can easily see this matter taking up about 6 to 8 hours of time (considering necessary interaction with you via email and telephone calls, review and revision of the docs, putting it together into a legally acceptable document and the legal research time for NM law(s)) which means that I would be starting at an extreme disadvantage in the first place with no way to bill you for any additional time because I had already agreed not to seek anything additional so long as you forwarded the retainer deposit.

-

Perhaps what you might want to do is ask customer service to completely close this question on Just Answer and then you should probably put together a NEW question with a request for an estimate or quote to review the covenants and assist you in making a recordable legally enforceable covenant agreement between you and your neighbor under NM law. Attach the covenants that you already have to the Just Answer question so any attorney considering this quote will have the materials needed from you at their fingertips (and in your request you should point out the attached covenants for their review so they cannot claim later that they did not see any of the covenants prior to delivering a quote to you on this matter).

-

Please let me know how you want to proceed in this matter.

-

MARY

-

-

Ask Your Own Real Estate Law Question
Was this answer helpful?

How JustAnswer works

step-image
Describe your issueThe assistant will guide you
step-image
Chat 1:1 with a real estate lawyerLicensed Experts are available 24/7
step-image
100% satisfaction guaranteeGet all the answers you need
Ask Legalease Your Own Question
Legalease
Legalease
Legalease, Lawyer
Category: Real Estate Law
Satisfied Customers: 16,440
16,440 Satisfied Customers
Experience: 13 years experience in RE Law, including LL/Tenant, contractor disputes, comm'l prop. issues

Legalease is online now

A new question is answered every 9 seconds

How JustAnswer works:

  • Ask an ExpertExperts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional AnswerVia email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site. Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction GuaranteeRate the answer you receive.

JustAnswer in the News:

Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.

What Customers are Saying:

Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises!

Gary B.Edmond, OK

My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer.

EricRedwood City, CA

I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight.

MichaelWichita, KS

PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent.

Three H.Houston, TX

Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!!

ElaineAtlanta, GA

It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem.

TonyApopka, FL

Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help.

Mary C.Freshfield, Liverpool, UK

< Previous | Next >

Meet the Experts:

Barrister

Barrister

Lawyer

12,142 satisfied customers

17 years real estate, Realtor. Landlord 26 years

Infolawyer

Infolawyer

Lawyer

8,377 satisfied customers

Experienced lawyer

Ray

Ray

Lawyer

8,253 satisfied customers

Texas Attorney for 30 years dealing in real estate

LawTalk

LawTalk

Attorney

6,208 satisfied customers

I have 30 years legal experience. Additionally, in CA I held a Real Estate Broker's license.

Dimitry Esquire

Dimitry Esquire

Attorney

5,526 satisfied customers

JA Mentor, multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation & admin

Ely

Ely

Counselor at Law

4,998 satisfied customers

Qualified attorney in private practice including business, family, criminal, and real estate issues.

P. Simmons

P. Simmons

Lawyer

3,572 satisfied customers

12+ yrs. of experience including real estate law.

< Previous | Next >

Related Real Estate Law Questions
How much is the fee to ask a question? I would need an
How much is the fee to ask a question? I would need an attorney familiar with Texas property laws. … read more
TaxAttorneytoHelp
TaxAttorneytoHelp
Owner
Doctoral Degree
2,542 satisfied customers
I would like to subdivide my property in New Mexico from 1.8
I would like to subdivide my property in New Mexico from 1.8 acres to two lots of .8 acres and the other with the house to 1 acre. There is a 48 year old HOA covenant that has no existing board that s… read more
Irwin Law
Irwin Law
Juris Doctor JD
7,185 satisfied customers
In 1983 the community Of Towne Park was established in
In 1983 the community Of Towne Park was established in Albuquerque, New Mexico. There 73 acres within TP, there are 486 lots. In 1983 73 acres where owned by the Univ. of New Mexico, the Developer, Ro… read more
PaulmoJD
PaulmoJD
Attorney At Law
Doctoral Degree
106 satisfied customers
From what I have read on the web, in the state of Colorado
From what I have read on the web, in the state of Colorado the plat of a common interest community (HOA) is part of the Declarations. Therefore, alterations and/or amendments to the plat must follow t… read more
Ray
Ray
Lawyer
Doctoral Degree
8,253 satisfied customers
I live in a townhome and have extended homeowners title insurance
I live in a townhome and have extended homeowners title insurance policy. I recently found that my title has a defect. my title/warranty deed refers to a defective plat. According to the plat I own 42… read more
Irwin Law
Irwin Law
Juris Doctor JD
7,185 satisfied customers
In the state of Minnesota, is there a document that must be
In the state of Minnesota, is there a document that must be filed from a developer to a township in order for a plotted road to be used or altered by the township? Would it be at the county? What type… read more
Attyadvisor
Attyadvisor
Doctoral Degree
8,356 satisfied customers
I own in a 2-phase, HOA development with restrictive covenants
I own in a 2-phase, HOA development with restrictive covenants in Knox County, Tennessee. Since Phase II was not completed within 5-years of the approval date, the plat has expired. Normally, a develo… read more
Roger
Roger
Litigation Attorney
Doctoral Degree
26,939 satisfied customers
a subdivision with 14 lots has a covenant. covenant states
a subdivision with 14 lots has a covenant. covenant states no lots to be subdivided. in 1990 a lot was subdivided. in 2013 we found out .67 acres been sold to land adjoining. if willing to pay the cos… read more
Seattle Scott
Seattle Scott
Private practice attorney
995 satisfied customers
My husband purchased his home on Lk Francis located within
My husband purchased his home on Lk Francis located within Errol Estates in Apopka, Fl. in 1993 or 1995 in 2008 some of the lakefront residents around lake Francis decided to form their own associatio… read more
Seattle Scott
Seattle Scott
Private practice attorney
995 satisfied customers
I own some lake property in Minnesota that is vacant/undeveloped
I own some lake property in Minnesota that is vacant/undeveloped but contiguous to developed properties on both sides. In total there is about 300' of shoreline and 4 total acres of land. For the past… read more
WiseOwl58
WiseOwl58
JD Honors Graduate
4,232 satisfied customers
I rent out my single family home in a residential neighborhood,
I rent out my single family home in a residential neighborhood, where Covenants say no commercial chicken houses, factory farms, retail stores, or commercial enterprises that generate regular daily tr… read more
TaxAttorneytoHelp
TaxAttorneytoHelp
Owner
Doctoral Degree
2,542 satisfied customers
Quiet Title Action? Ive just discovered that there may be
Quiet Title Action? I've just discovered that there may be cloud on my title on one side of my parcel. A land court decision related to another boundary established that the historic parcel my land de… read more
lwpat
lwpat
Doctoral Degree
256 satisfied customers
I own several parcels that abut a platted (since 1949 but never
I own several parcels that abut a platted (since 1949 but never installed or maintained ) street in an Illinois city. Can a the municipality vacate the street without my approval?… read more
PAX Attorney
PAX Attorney
Attorney
Juris Doctor (JD)
956 satisfied customers
We have a 39 unit Planned Unit Development in TN. A homeowner
We have a 39 unit Planned Unit Development in TN. A homeowner is insisting we define common grounds by survey. substracting each "plat" from the overall property. Each "plat" of our homes is a little … read more
evanesq
evanesq
Managing Attorney
Doctoral Degree
6 satisfied customers
What options do I have to the following crooked scenario
In early 2005 I purchased a house with 3/4 acre lot in KY. and received a general warranty deed. Just recently I have discovered that shortly after making my deed, the seller made a second deed to the… read more
FLACORPLAWYER
FLACORPLAWYER
Doctoral Degree
1,750 satisfied customers
In our covenants all articles start with Shall except one It
In our covenants all articles start with Shall except one It states recreational vehicles, trailors, boats etc.. Should be placed so not to be seen by the roadway or neighbors property. There definiti… read more
socrateaser
socrateaser
1,031 satisfied customers
I have lived in rural new Mexico since 1999 in a subdivision,
I have lived in rural new Mexico since 1999 in a subdivision, 10 acre minimums, mostly undeveloped, that had codes and covenants. In 2001, a small group of property owners got together and formed a Ho… read more
PaulmoJD
PaulmoJD
Attorney At Law
Doctoral Degree
106 satisfied customers
I purchased a 50 acre farm from a bank. My neighbors have
I purchased a 50 acre farm from a bank. My neighbors have built homes on a portion of my property. According to my deed, it is mine. The plat map is incorrect so I hired a survey crew. They will not c… read more
VF LAW
VF LAW
J.D.
112 satisfied customers

DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.

The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).

DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.

The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).

Show MoreShow Less

Ask Your Question

x