Microsoft Office

Microsoft Office questions? Ask an IT Expert for support ASAP

Ask a Computer Expert,
Get an Answer ASAP!

This answer was rated:

I am using Microsoft Office 365 as part of the University of…

I am using Microsoft...

I am using Microsoft Office 365 as part of the University of Massachusetts system. I have been using MS PowerPoint for 15 years and never had a problem (I teach Microbiology to B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. students) after making many, many PowerPoint presentations. I have one now that is 17.5 MB with 59 slides. It has lots of graphics (but most of my PPS presentations do), but I have lots bigger ones (40 MB, 180 slides) that run as quick as you can click. This one is so pathetically slow that it is functionally useless. I have already shrunk the file size, removed cropped boarders, etc. What can I do to get this to run faster, if anything? I am using a MacPro desktop to create and a MacAir to show, but I have also done this for a decade . . .

Technician's Assistant: What Operating System (OS) are you running on your computer or device?

IOS 10.13.2, 2.9GHz, Intel Core i5. It is a late 2013 purchased machine, fully updated

Technician's Assistant: What have you tried so far to uninstall your PowerPoint?

I have not tried to "uninstall"

Technician's Assistant: Anything else you want the Software Expert to know before I connect you?

Not that I can think of?

Show More
Show Less
Ask Your Own Microsoft Office Question
Answered in 1 hour by:
3/17/2018
bbao
bbao, IT Consultant
Category: Microsoft Office
Satisfied Customers: 1,358
Experience: CISM / CISSP / MCSD - Azure Solutions Architect / MCSE - Cloud Platform and Infrastructure / MS MVP
Verified

> This one is so pathetically slow that it is functionally useless.

Do you mean this is one slides file causing problem for you? Details please or just simply upload it here for review? Thanks.

Ask Your Own Microsoft Office Question
Customer reply replied 1 month ago
Sorry, what I meant to say was that "I have no idea why this PPS does not work because it only has 59 slides" I do not know if the file for one slide or some or all is causing the problem. I also have tried to upload the PPS but can find no instructions as to how to do that. Tell me how to use this service in that way and I will give the PPS to you to look at.

PPS file can't be recognised by the site by default. Please compress it into a ZIP file, then it can uploaded here.

Thanks for the effort.

Ask Your Own Microsoft Office Question

Have you uploaded the PPS file compressed in ZIP format? Thanks.

Ask Your Own Microsoft Office Question
Customer reply replied 1 month ago
Do you have a reply ?????>

Hello, I am in a remote session, will be back with you shortly. Thanks for your patience.

Ask Your Own Microsoft Office Question

Okay, FYI I haven't seen your uploaded file here. Are you sure you have successfully upload the ZIP file?

Ask Your Own Microsoft Office Question

Uploaded?

Ask Your Own Microsoft Office Question
Customer reply replied 1 month ago
I have tried everything I can think of to upload this ZIP file (drag onto text reply, click “add files”, etc.), what next?

I guess it was caused by the large size, not allowed to this site.

Can you please simply upload it to other online storage such as OneDrive, Dropbox, or Google Drive and share a link with for downloading now? Thanks.

Ask Your Own Microsoft Office Question
Customer reply replied 1 month ago
I have bought dropbox and installed it. I have the file in a zipfile format. To whom do I email it?

Please just upload the your file to Dropbox and share the file link here. Thanks!

Ask Your Own Microsoft Office Question
Customer reply replied 1 month ago
Having no idea of how o use an application I bought today for this purpose, all that I can see from Dropbox is that I need your email to share items.

mmm.... I guess we need a remote session now, then you no need to worry about how to upload the files and I will see your computer screen and manage everything including review your PowerPoint files and upload it Dropbox if it is still necessary.

Ask Your Own Microsoft Office Question

Okay, I am currently in another session. Do you mind I accept your request now and start the session in one hour, hopefully in 30 mins? Please advise.

bbao
bbao, IT Consultant
Category: Microsoft Office
Satisfied Customers: 1,358
Experience: CISM / CISSP / MCSD - Azure Solutions Architect / MCSE - Cloud Platform and Infrastructure / MS MVP
Verified
bbao and 87 other Microsoft Office Specialists are ready to help you
Ask your own question now
Customer reply replied 1 month ago
Fine. Let's make it in 1 hour. My time 7:16pm as it is 6:16pm now.

Thanks for requesting remote assistance service. Let's start it in one hour.

Ask Your Own Microsoft Office Question

I am ready for you. Are you using a Mac computer for the remote session?

Ask Your Own Microsoft Office Question
Customer reply replied 1 month ago
The same as yesterdy. 10.13.2

Please download QuickSupport software from below link on your Mac, then advise the TeamViewer ID and password ***** downloaded and installed.

https://download.teamviewer.com/download/TeamViewerQS.dmg

Ask Your Own Microsoft Office Question
Customer reply replied 1 month ago
IUD 724 820 408
Password 1834

All done. Ways to improve the slides performance were given via the remote session.

Ask Your Own Microsoft Office Question

BTW, as discussed over the phone, please try using your uni email address to log on at office.com, you should be able to get latest version of Office for Windows and Mac for free or at discounted prices for as per Microsoft plans. See below fore more info.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-au/education/buy-license/overview-of-how-to-buy/default.aspx

Ask Your Own Microsoft Office Question
Was this answer helpful?
Ask bbao Your Own Question
bbao
bbao
bbao, IT Consultant
Category: Microsoft Office
Satisfied Customers: 1,358
1,358 Satisfied Customers
Experience: CISM / CISSP / MCSD - Azure Solutions Architect / MCSE - Cloud Platform and Infrastructure / MS MVP

bbao is online now

A new question is answered every 9 seconds

How JustAnswer works:

  • Ask an ExpertExperts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional AnswerVia email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site. Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction GuaranteeRate the answer you receive.

JustAnswer in the News:

Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.

What Customers are Saying:

My Expert answered my question promptly and he resolved the issue totally. This is a great service. I am so glad I found it I will definitely use the service again if needed.

One Happy CustomerNew York

Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help.

Mary C.Freshfield, Liverpool, UK

This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!!

AlexLos Angeles, CA

Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult.

GPHesperia, CA

I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion.

JustinKernersville, NC

Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around.

EstherWoodstock, NY

Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know.

RobinElkton, Maryland

< Previous | Next >

Meet the Experts:

jstinehelfer

jstinehelfer

Information Systems Manager

36 satisfied customers

A+ Comptia Certified computer repair

JasonJames122

JasonJames122

Computer Enthusiast

0 satisfied customers

I manage all information systems (network of Windows PC's and servers with Microsoft Office products) for a small business

Jess M.

Jess M.

Computer Support Specialist

701 satisfied customers

Computer Software Specialist for more than 10 years

The-PC-Guy

The-PC-Guy

Computer Manager

588 satisfied customers

20 years experience providing remote computer support

James K.

James K.

Consultant

260 satisfied customers

Technical Director of IT Company

IT Miro

IT Miro

Computer Scientist

157 satisfied customers

Bachelor's Degree in Information Technology, Microsoft Certified Professional

Chris L.

Chris L.

Support Specialist

147 satisfied customers

Certified Expert with over 10 years experience.

< Previous | Next >

Related Microsoft Office Questions
Trying to open my Office 365 account and it says my
Trying to open my Office 365 account and it says my organization is marked for removal. What does that mean? Details copied here; … read more
bbao
bbao
IT Consultant
1,358 satisfied customers
I am creating labels in Microsoft word. In mail merge
I am creating labels in Microsoft word. In mail merge manager, I select document type. Which automatically puts in old information. This is valid 5150 avery labels. Then I select "Get LIst" and select… read more
Jess M.
Jess M.
Computer Support Specialist
Bachelor's Degree
701 satisfied customers
Need help assigning background colors of plot area to data
Need help assigning background colors of plot area to data source … read more
bbao
bbao
IT Consultant
1,358 satisfied customers
I need to reinstall Microsoft office. I have my serial key.
I need to reinstall Microsoft office. I have my serial key. What do I do … read more
Jason Jones
Jason Jones
AAS Information Technology
6,322 satisfied customers
In an excell spreadsheet, I hid column A and now I cannot
In an excell spreadsheet, I hid column A and now I cannot get it to show … read more
Russell H.
Russell H.
Computer Technology Consultant
Vocational, Technical or Trade Scho
788 satisfied customers
Just installed Microsoft Office on my new iMac. Where is it?
Just installed Microsoft Office on my new iMac. Where is it? … read more
Don Williams
Don Williams
BS
14 satisfied customers
There was an upgrade on my MacBook Air Laptop this
Hello! There was an upgrade on my MacBook Air Laptop this afternoon. I have been able to work with everything except with Microsoft Word; the response is always "Microsoft Word is Currently being upda… read more
bbao
bbao
IT Consultant
1,358 satisfied customers
My normal.dotm is corrupted. Word 2010. 2 days ago.
my normal.dotm is corrupted JA: What application are you using? Customer: word 2010 JA: When did you last update Word? Customer: 2 days ago JA: What have you tried so far with your Word? Customer: eve… read more
Jason Jones
Jason Jones
AAS Information Technology
6,322 satisfied customers
I have a word created document that I am not able to open.
I have a word created document that I am not able to open. It does not give me the choise of word a … read more
Moses C
Moses C
Bsc
566 satisfied customers
MY outlook fails to connect to the server. To resolve this
Hi, MY outlook fails to connect to the server. To resolve this we have reinstalled outlook a few times. Which resolves the issue but then a few days later the same problem comes back. I have also rein… read more
bbao
bbao
IT Consultant
1,358 satisfied customers
I have a surface 4 and it came with 365 home and student,
i have a surface 4 and it came with 365 home and student, word would not open anymore. I tried to reload it but I could not find the activation code. i do have a microsoft account. but now word has co… read more
bbao
bbao
IT Consultant
1,358 satisfied customers
I received a new charger less than 6 months ago...now I am
I received a new charger less than 6 months ago...now I am in Spain and my charger isn't working...I only have 20 minutes left....I need an international number to access help... … read more
bbao
bbao
IT Consultant
1,358 satisfied customers
I'm working in Microsoft Project. When I schedule tasks
I'm working in Microsoft Project. When I schedule tasks manually with a 1-day duration, the task starts and ends on the same day. When I auto-schedule tasks with a 1-day duration, the task starts on o… read more
bbao
bbao
IT Consultant
1,358 satisfied customers
I BOUGHT A NEW COMPUTER AND HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO SYNCRONIZE
i BOUGHT A NEW COMPUTER AND HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO SYNCRONIZE OUTLOOK WITH ICLOUD CAN YOU HELP? … read more
Viet - Computer Tech
Viet - Computer Tech
Computer Technican
Bachelor\u0027s Degree
956 satisfied customers
I thought I was all done, No spreadsheets after paying and
No spreadsheets after paying and only got one mouth … read more
Mike Taylor
Mike Taylor
42 satisfied customers
Are you there? Word. I don't remember ... but that's not the
can i tell you the problem...before you ask me questions ?? please … read more
Jason Jones
Jason Jones
AAS Information Technology
6,322 satisfied customers
I simply would like to download Microsoft office onto my new
I simply would like to download Microsoft office onto my new computer and I'm unable to because it keeps asking for a password ***** I do not have and it promises to send me a code via email and nothi… read more
Wes
Wes
Consultant
Bachelor\u0027s Degree
368 satisfied customers
I bought 365 about two months ago. I don't have a product
I bought 365 about two months ago. I don't have a product key. My computer crashed a few days ago and I'm desperate to get 365 back as MY Excel has critical docs that I can't access. … read more
Cody
Cody
Computer Science
2,156 satisfied customers
Disclaimer: Information in questions, answers, and other posts on this site ("Posts") comes from individual users, not JustAnswer; JustAnswer is not responsible for Posts. Posts are for general information, are not intended to substitute for informed professional advice (medical, legal, veterinary, financial, etc.), or to establish a professional-client relationship. The site and services are provided "as is" with no warranty or representations by JustAnswer regarding the qualifications of Experts. To see what credentials have been verified by a third-party service, please click on the "Verified" symbol in some Experts' profiles. JustAnswer is not intended or designed for EMERGENCY questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals.

Disclaimer: Information in questions, answers, and other posts on this site ("Posts") comes from individual users, not JustAnswer; JustAnswer is not responsible for Posts. Posts are for general information, are not intended to substitute for informed professional advice (medical, legal, veterinary, financial, etc.), or to establish a professional-client relationship. The site and services are provided "as is" with no warranty or representations by JustAnswer regarding the qualifications of Experts. To see what credentials have been verified by a third-party service, please click on the "Verified" symbol in some Experts' profiles. JustAnswer is not intended or designed for EMERGENCY questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals.

Show MoreShow Less

Ask Your Question

x