How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site. Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Zoey, JD Your Own Question
Zoey, JD
Zoey, JD, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 27752
Experience:  Active member of the NYS bar since 1989
18321761
Type Your Legal Question Here...
Zoey, JD is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I'm wondering...how do I have to press charges if someone is

This answer was rated:

I'm wondering...how long do I have to press charges if someone is stealing my medication
JA: Since laws vary from place to place, what state is this in? And just to clarify, have charges been officially filed?
Customer: Virginia. No charges have been filed, not even a police report.
JA: Has anything been filed or reported?
Customer: No.
JA: Anything else you want the lawyer to know before I connect you?
Customer: No.

Hi,

I'm Zoey.

I've reviewed your post. Please be patient as I may need to research for you, and it also takes time to compose and type a reply.

Customer: replied 2 months ago.
Okay

On a petty larceny in Virginia, you'd have 5 years to press charges. On a felony, there's no statute of limitations for this type of crime in your state, meaning that it would never get too old for you to prosecute.

That said, the longer you wait, the weaker your case would get, because a recent outcry once a crime was committed tends to bolster the complainant's credibility in the mind of a jury if the defendant chooses to fight the case.

Customer: replied 2 months ago.
OK my second question is this what if I know the person that did it and they've admitted it at that I have also told them that I will not be pressing charges and I've said it in a text message and they have proof of that. Does that change whether or not I can? I've also had police here and they were informed as well as the hospital they went to. They weren't ingested they were thrown away and blood tests and urine tests proved they weren't in their system.
Customer: replied 2 months ago.
Hello???

Sorry for the delay. I am juggling several different follow ups, and you have to be patient and wait your turn. I take them in order and am up to yours now.

Customer: replied 2 months ago.
Okay, thank you.

It really doesn't change things because you can't press charges. Only the prosecutor can do that. Once you report this, which you might wish to do for any number of reasons, it's the state that decides whether to go forward with charges or not, and it will do so regardless of your promise to the defendant.

But if you don't want to have him prosecuted, instead of reporting him, you could just sue him in small claims court for the value of the medication.

Customer: replied 2 months ago.
in order to have all of that happen, I would have to first file a police report and there is no time limit on how long I have in order to file that?

Correct for a felony theft. Otherwise you would have to file the report within 5 years for a misdemeanor.

Customer: replied 2 months ago.
What makes it the difference in felony versus a misdemeanor charge?

The amount of monetary value of the property defines the seriousness of the crime. Up to $200 would be a misdemeanor. If the medication cost more than that, it's a felony.

Customer: replied 2 months ago.
I feel the cost was covered by insurance and I didn't have to pay anything for it?
Customer: replied 2 months ago.
If*

If it was covered and you sustained no damages, you can't sue. Then you have to decide whether you care about having him punished criminally or not.

Customer: replied 2 months ago.
what would prosecution be able to do then as far as charges if I don't have any financial losses and now have more medicine? I'd have to file a report and they decide what to do from there? How would that determine a felony versus a misdemeanor if I didn't have to pay for the medicine?

Your insurance company paid for the medicine, and they would determine the value of it from that. Yes, you'd have to file a report and let the police/prosecutor decide what to do from there.

Customer: replied 2 months ago.
Okay. Thank you for your help, that answered a lot of questions. And I have unlimited amount of time to file a report?

If the value of the medication was more than $200., yes.

I strive for 5-star service. If I have addressed all of your concerns, please take the time to rate my service to you by selecting 3, 4, or (hopefully) 5 stars on the rating scale, as that is the only way that JustAnswer gives us Experts credit for our work. You would still be able to post further follow ups on this question thread about this for no additional cost, even after I've been rated.

Zoey, JD and 2 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you