Ask a Lawyer and Get Answers to Your Legal Questions
Hi and welcome to JA. Ray here to help you today.Please bear with me a few moments while I review your question and respond.
Vandalism damages of $400 or more – California Penal Code 594(b)(1)
If the monetary damage to restore the property due to vandalism is four hundred dollars ($400) or more, the defendant can be convicted of a misdemeanor or a felony. The prosecution has discretion on whether they charge the crime as a misdemeanor or a felony.
A misdemeanor conviction of vandalism can result in imprisonment for up to one year in county jail and a fine of up to ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or both fine and imprisonment.
A felony conviction of vandalism can result in imprisonment for up to three years in state prison and a fine of up to ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or both fine and imprisonment.
If the damage from vandalism is ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or more, the fine can increase to fifty thousand dollars ($50,000).
Loss of Driver’s License – California Vehicle Code 13202.6
Vandalism punishment and sentencing in California is severe
Upon a conviction for vandalism of a defendant who is 13 years of age or older, the court shall suspend the defendant’s driver’s license for up to two years. If the defendant is not eligible to drive at the time of the conviction, the court shall suspend the issuance of the driver’s license, once the defendant is eligible, for 1-3 years. The only exception to this suspension would be if the court finds that suspending the defendant’s driving privilege would result in personal or family hardship.
At the best here lawyer might be able to reduce this to a misdemeanor, if it is a felony here then the time and fines go up significantly.If your record here is clear then felony /misdemeanor probation, fines, suspension of your license.
Consider a local criminal lawyer if you can afford it because the suspension of license and the potential for jail or probation here.
You may also have some good facts if no one can identify you as the person that did this.The fact that you had the sledge doesn't mean you did the crime.
I appreciate the chance to help you tonight.Thanks again.
If you can positive rate 5 stars it is much appreciated.
If you have follow up please just ask.
Your lawyer may be able to view the DAs file , if there is video he may get to see that.This is going to be hard if the other guy rolls over on you can and says you were there.Your lawyer can make a deal here maybe probation/fines, the license suspension is the real kicker.
This is known as a warbler--can be reduced to a misdemeanor or charge you as felony.You want this reduced.
If it gets reduced here..A misdemeanor conviction of vandalism can result in imprisonment for up to one year in county jail and a fine of up to ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or both fine and imprisonment.
So maybe a year of probation and up to $10k fine.
And of course the drivers license suspension.
This is pretty serious for you here, there is potential of jail .And I am going to be honest a judge is not going to be kind to you, you will need a lawyer to see what kind of deal can be made.