Ask a Lawyer and Get Answers to Your Legal Questions
Hello and thank you for contacting us. This is Dwayne B. and I’m an expert here and looking forward to assisting you today.
Let me check something.
On a first offense in Colorado, a minor will almost certainly be assessed a fine, ordered to do some community service (such as picking up trash) and then ordered to attend some type of alcohol awareness class(es).
They no longer automatically lose their license for a first offense but if she doesn't do the community service or doesn't go to any classes ordered by the court she can, at that point, lose the driver's license.
The fine will be up to $100 plus a $25 surcharge. Occasionally you will see a judge that doesn't order a fine and just orders the class but that's rare.
It shows up on a background check just like a traffic ticket and usually doesn't have much effect on a job application but, of course, that depends on the employer.
If your question has been answered then I'd offer my best wishes to you and ask that you please not forget to leave a Positive Rating so I receive credit for my work. Of course, please feel free to ask any follow up questions in this thread. I want to be sure that all of your questions are answered.
Colorado will ask California to suspend it and they are all signators to the treaty between states so CA will suspend it if it comes to that, whether she was driving or not.
However, that only happens if she fails to do what the judge tells her to.
There is nothing in the law that states they have to report it to the school. However, since the incident happened on the college parking lot there may be some system in place for doing so.