Ask a Lawyer and Get Answers to Your Legal Questions
Thank you for using Just Answer. I look forward to assisting you.An expired tag charge is not a misdemeanor in Georgia. It is one of the few traffic tickets in Georgia that is not a criminal misdemeanor. If you weren't arrested the charge isn't on your criminal history, and it will not go on your driving history. It is a fine, typically around $100-$200. However, if you show up to court with proof that you have recently renewed the tag, they often will reduce the fine. There's no guarantee they'll do this of course, since you're basically admitting your guilt, but it certainly is helpful for you to do so.
Expired registration is not a misdemeanor. Forged plates or forged registration is a misdemeanor, as is a suspended registration. A suspended registration charge is entirely different than an expired tag ticket. An expired tag ticket carries a small fine, and does not go on your driving history. A suspended registration ticket carries a minimum fine of $1,000, is a misdemeanor, goes on your driving history, and will suspend your driver's license if convicted. If this was just an issue of forgetting to renew, you're okay -go renew and bring proof to court.