Ask a Lawyer and Get Answers to Your Legal Questions
What state are you charged in?
What is your criminal record, if any?
Costa Mesa California. No previuos criminal record
Since you are charged with a misdemeanor, and you have no criminal record, your sentence should be minimal. Of course, it makes a difference whether you plead guilty or whether you take it to trial and are found guilty.
This offense has a potential sentence of up to $2,000 and jail time up to 6 months.
Simple Battery California Penal Code Section 242-243.
If you are a man, and your alleged victim is a woman, you are probably looking at a few days in jail. You can ask for a deferred judgment which means you will plead guilty, but will not be convicted unless you get into some type of trouble in the next year or so. But if you stay out of trouble, the case will get dropped as if it never happened. This is not granted every time, but you can give it a try.