How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Phillips Esq. Your Own Question
Phillips Esq.
Phillips Esq., Attorney-at-Law
Category: Landlord-Tenant
Satisfied Customers: 19109
Experience:  B.A.; M.B.A.; J.D.
16551887
Type Your Landlord-Tenant Question Here...
Phillips Esq. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Is it legal in Hawaii on a six month lease to charge 2800

Customer Question

Is it legal in Hawaii on a six month lease to charge 2800 first and 2800 last plus 2800 security deposit ?
Submitted: 11 months ago.
Category: Landlord-Tenant
Expert:  Phillips Esq. replied 11 months ago.

Hello: This is Attorney Phillips. Welcome to Justanswer! I am reviewing your post, and I will post my response very shortly. Thank you for your patience.

Expert:  Phillips Esq. replied 11 months ago.

Is it legal in Hawaii on a six month lease to charge 2800 first and 2800 last plus 2800 security deposit ?

Response: No, it is not legal. Hawaii Revised Statutes Section 521-44(b) only allow one security deposit that cannot exceed one month's rent. Also see the site below for more useful information:

https://www.landlordology.com/hawaii-landlord-tenant-laws/

If you do not have any follow-up question(s), kindly give a positive rating to my response so that I can receive credit for responding to your post. There is no additional cost to you for doing this.

Thank you for your cooperation.

Related Landlord-Tenant Questions