Home Improvement

Home improvement questions? Ask a handyman for answers

Ask an Expert,
Get an Answer ASAP!

I recently purchased two KLIK2U Universal Wireless Keyless…

Customer Question
I recently purchased two...

I recently purchased two KLIK2U Universal Wireless Keyless Entry remotes. I have tried programming one of them to two different garage door openers - a Craftsman and a Chamberlain using different PIN numbers. Both openers have the Purple Button. Neither programming effort works. What am I doing wrong?

Contractor's Assistant: Just to clarify, what's the make and model of the appliance? And has it done this before?

This is a first time effort. Are you asking for the model number of each opener? I do know one was manufactured 4/2011 and the other 9/2011.

Contractor's Assistant: Do you plan on doing the work yourself?

Yes.

Contractor's Assistant: Anything else we should know to help you best?

Not thet I know of. I have tried reprogramming several times.

Submitted: 8 months ago.Category: Home Improvement
Show More
Show Less
Ask Your Own Home Improvement Question
Answered in 3 minutes by:
9/14/2017
Home Improvement Expert: Eddie, Home Improvement Contractor replied 8 months ago
Eddie
Eddie, Home Improvement Contractor
Category: Home Improvement
Satisfied Customers: 1,241
Experience: owner of Island Pro-Craft
Verified

Hi do you have a Klik2u programming instruction sheet?..........sometimes it can be a little tricky

Ask Your Own Home Improvement Question
Customer reply replied 8 months ago
I have read it many times!
Home Improvement Expert: Eddie, Home Improvement Contractor replied 8 months ago

I think what we can do for openers is start from scratch and if you will..........

I would like to erase the transmitters.....do a hard reset and then re program.......please follow these instructions implicitly and in its sequence

ERASE THE TRANSMITTERS:

hold down the LEARN button on each of the openers for 6 or 7 seconds….If you have a MY-Q device …immediately press and hold the LEARN button again until the learn LED goes out. All codes are now erased.

HARD RESET:

unplug the openers what should be for a good minute......in the meantime remove the batteries from the transmitters including the key less.....and if you have a battery back-up.....there is no battery in the wall transmitter…..plug back in the openers and replace the batteries which should be fresh

This is starting off with something simple and hopefully it will resolve the issue......

Always allow me time to prepare information for you. In case I have to go offline I am always checking back to keep things moving and expedited…..Please let me know how it goes

And thank you for your help and assistance

eddie

Ask Your Own Home Improvement Question
Home Improvement Expert: Eddie, Home Improvement Contractor replied 8 months ago

next we will try to program the Klik2u again to see

Ask Your Own Home Improvement Question
Customer reply replied 8 months ago
Will this reset affect the remotes I carry in each vehicle?
Customer reply replied 8 months ago
Never mind that last question! I tried erasing the transmitter and now neither of the remotes I carry in my vehicles works. NOW-HOW DO I FIX THEM!
Home Improvement Expert: Eddie, Home Improvement Contractor replied 8 months ago

just re program them .....its not HomeLink right?.........make sure the wall control is working first and then press the learn button on the opener ........you will have 30 seconds hold the remotes with in 12 inches of the opener and click the button on that to reactivate ...............then try to program the Klik2

Ask Your Own Home Improvement Question
Customer reply replied 8 months ago
Thanks for the help. I finally got the remotes re-programmed. However, the CLICKER unit will not respond to the steps that came with the unit. I tried 5 times to re-program, but nothing happened. Any further ideas?
Home Improvement Expert: Eddie, Home Improvement Contractor replied 8 months ago

I think you had to use code 3 for the purple button were you able to do that?

Ask Your Own Home Improvement Question
Home Improvement Expert: Eddie, Home Improvement Contractor replied 8 months ago

If you have found my answers insightful and to your satisfaction……. please click ACCEPT… this would be the only way I can be compensated in facilitating your inquiry.........a deposit for a subscription was made by you but no payment will be forthcoming to me until I am rated for my assistance…..positive feedback…..5 star replies and bonuses are always welcomed and appreciated

And thank you for your help

eddie

Ask Your Own Home Improvement Question
Customer reply replied 8 months ago
I did use number 3 for the purple button. Nothing happened. The instruction sheet says to enter the selected PIN number, then the ID (#3), and finally to press and release the Smart/Learn button. Is that the proper sequence?
Home Improvement Expert: Eddie, Home Improvement Contractor replied 8 months ago

Let me get back to you ....... Probably tomorrow..........i tried something different at one time and I will have to try to remember what it was

Ask Your Own Home Improvement Question
Home Improvement Expert: Eddie, Home Improvement Contractor replied 8 months ago

you know next time try #4 ........ I think that's what I did ........I am still searching my notes........when you need something you can't find it ..........otherwise it would have popped up 16 times already

Ask Your Own Home Improvement Question
Home Improvement Expert: Eddie, Home Improvement Contractor replied 8 months ago

yes I was helping someone once and tried #4 ...........so see if it works......I guess try all...........let me know

Thanks

eddie

Ask Your Own Home Improvement Question
Customer reply replied 8 months ago
I obviously accessed our website by mistake. Aside from the anxiety of temporarily losing use of the remotes in my vehicles, we have accomplished absolutely nothing. I demand that the TWO charges to my credit card - $5.00 and $13.00 - be immediately credited back to my account. Thank you.
Home Improvement Expert: Eddie, Home Improvement Contractor replied 8 months ago

I'm sorry you feel that way .......you can see that I was trying for you and gave you the fix when the remotes got knocked out.......and I am not there which makes it that much more difficult.........you may have a faulty opener now from all the surges and influxes through the years

I wanted to tell you that I have nothing to do with billing so you need to contact customer service.....you did not rate me so there should only be a subscription charge ..........good luck to you

Ask Your Own Home Improvement Question
Was this answer helpful?
Ask Eddie Your Own Question
Eddie
Eddie
Eddie, Home Improvement Contractor
Category: Home Improvement
Satisfied Customers: 1,241
1,241 Satisfied Customers
Experience: owner of Island Pro-Craft

Eddie is online now

A new question is answered every 9 seconds

How JustAnswer works:

  • Ask an ExpertExperts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional AnswerVia email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site. Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction GuaranteeRate the answer you receive.

JustAnswer in the News:

Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.

What Customers are Saying:

You did one super job of explaining to me everything there is to know about this fridge. I'm looking forward to asking you questions in the future.

JimmyBagley, IA

Thank you for the expeditious answer. It's good to know you're out there and awake in the wee hours when I finally have time to ask questions about my Jenn Air.

JeanRiverhead, NY

Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help.

Mary C.Freshfield, Liverpool, UK

This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!!

AlexLos Angeles, CA

Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult.

GPHesperia, CA

I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion.

JustinKernersville, NC

Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around.

EstherWoodstock, NY

< Previous | Next >

Meet the Experts:

Brian

Brian

Architect

2,153 satisfied customers

Licensed Architect- 17 years, L.E.E.D. AP

The Home Smithy

The Home Smithy

Home Builder

2,084 satisfied customers

#1 Home Improvement Expert 30+ years experience

Steve G.

Steve G.

Handyman

221 satisfied customers

VP of electronic repair company and home theater advisor.

StructuralEng

StructuralEng

Civil Engineer

14 satisfied customers

Licensed Structural Engineer

Eric M. Bright

Eric M. Bright

We Don't Comprehend the Word Can't!

1,734 satisfied customers

I've been been doing things for my clients that others have said cant be done for over a 1/4 Century

Phil

Phil

Mechanical Engineer

682 satisfied customers

Retired contractor, 51 years experience

Rich

Rich

Home Improvement Enthusiast

674 satisfied customers

Over 35 years construction and home maintenance experience

< Previous | Next >

Related Home Improvement Questions
We got a Shiatsu Massage Lounger in 1998. We still have it
We got a Shiatsu Massage Lounger in 1998. We still have it and it is in perfect condition, but recently we went to sit in it. It lights up and the motor is running but the programs do not run. The ser… read more
Harry
Harry
1,657 satisfied customers
I can't get my Sentry safe open! Sentry. The battery is
I can't get my Sentry safe open! JA: Who makes your safe or home security system? Customer: Sentry JA: What have you tried so far with your home security system? Customer: The battery is week JA: Anyt… read more
Eddie
Eddie
Home Improvement Contractor
1,241 satisfied customers
I cannot erase the old codes from openers. Just got there, I
I cannot erase codes. Did the 6 second hold and release. Nothing.… read more
Eddie
Eddie
Home Improvement Contractor
1,241 satisfied customers
The system switch no longer works...it just slides back and
the system switch no longer works...it just slides back and forth not clicking between COOL_OFF_HEAT...can that be fixed or does the whole unit need to be replaced … read more
David Bowden
David Bowden
Owner
839 satisfied customers
I've got a new house with a bare lawn. But it seems like a
Second opinion] OK, I've got a new house with a bare lawn. But it seems like a LOT of work to plant a new lawn. Testing the soil, grading, leveling, aerating and all that. Are there any shortcuts? Sho… read more
Martin
Martin
Electrical engineer
Bachelor's Degree
486 satisfied customers
How do you tell what drywall to clean and paint vs what to
how do you tell what drywall to clean and paint vs what to remove after a fire. I have areas that are very dark but look ok. Someone went through and wet cleaned upstairs walls. Some are darker than o… read more
Rick the plumber
Rick the plumber
Owner
9,857 satisfied customers
Just purchased a Tetradium Daniellii Bee Bee Tree. Would
Just purchased a Tetradium Daniellii Bee Bee Tree. Would like info. on planting and care. It's in a 6" pot. … read more
Martin
Martin
Electrical engineer
Bachelor's Degree
486 satisfied customers
I just came into a rental property that I own it's a house
I just came into a rental property that I own it's a house with a huge concrete basement. And the tenants that moved out did have a dog and a cat. As I walked into the kitchen I can start to smell wha… read more
Rick the plumber
Rick the plumber
Owner
9,857 satisfied customers
PRIVACY FENCE DESIGN QUESTION: Is it a standard privacy
PRIVACY FENCE DESIGN QUESTION: Is it a standard privacy fence design to have two rows of vertical pickets placed flush to one another, side-by-side with no space in between, in a flatboard style wall,… read more
David Bowden
David Bowden
Owner
839 satisfied customers
What window lite arrangements (e.g., 12 over 12, 9 over 6, 6
What window lite arrangements (e.g., 12 over 12, 9 over 6, 6 over 6, etc.) would have most likely used on a northern New England farm house built about 1820?… read more
Rick the plumber
Rick the plumber
Owner
9,857 satisfied customers
Can you assist us replace a 4 way light switch. Just started
Just started today, what is the fee for your help? … read more
David Bowden
David Bowden
Owner
839 satisfied customers
Something hit my roof and then parts fell through a glass
Something hit my roof and then parts fell through a glass ceiling for a stairwell. Can I attach photos to get an idea what is is … read more
Eddie
Eddie
Home Improvement Contractor
1,241 satisfied customers
I'm having a standby generator installed. It calls for a 250
I'm having a standby generator installed. It calls for a 250 gallon LP gas tank, which would take up a big piece of ground in my lawn. Standing on end would be better. Do they make a vertically mounte… read more
Rick the plumber
Rick the plumber
Owner
9,857 satisfied customers
I need to get my downsprouts repositioned away from my
I need to get my downsprouts repositioned away from my house. I have 3 of them. How much should i expect to pay for this and is this the type a job a handyman would handle… read more
Rick the plumber
Rick the plumber
Owner
9,857 satisfied customers
Can the condensation between the panes on my double glazing
Can the condensation between the panes on my double glazing units be removed without removing or replacing the double glazing unit? How can this be done? … read more
David Bowden
David Bowden
Owner
839 satisfied customers
I've had a surveyors report saying the bituminous sarking
I've had a surveyors report saying the bituminous sarking felt has perished along the roof eaves and needs a uv durable eaves carriers so that condensation running down the felt drains away properly i… read more
Rick the plumber
Rick the plumber
Owner
9,857 satisfied customers
I have a question for a Lift Recliner? Model is 118078. I
I called furniture but didn't like the add on charges. Looking for free delivery and free warranty 12 months. … read more
Sarah
Sarah
Teacher
Master\u0027s Degree
13 satisfied customers
I have a garland convection oven and it smokes a lot when I
hi, I have a garland convection oven and it smokes a lot when I turn it on to cook on 400-450 degrees. Is there something I can do to fix the problem? … read more
Susan Latta
Susan Latta
Kitchen and Bath Designer, Contractor
Bachelor\u0027s Degree
125 satisfied customers
Disclaimer: Information in questions, answers, and other posts on this site ("Posts") comes from individual users, not JustAnswer; JustAnswer is not responsible for Posts. Posts are for general information, are not intended to substitute for informed professional advice (medical, legal, veterinary, financial, etc.), or to establish a professional-client relationship. The site and services are provided "as is" with no warranty or representations by JustAnswer regarding the qualifications of Experts. To see what credentials have been verified by a third-party service, please click on the "Verified" symbol in some Experts' profiles. JustAnswer is not intended or designed for EMERGENCY questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals.

Disclaimer: Information in questions, answers, and other posts on this site ("Posts") comes from individual users, not JustAnswer; JustAnswer is not responsible for Posts. Posts are for general information, are not intended to substitute for informed professional advice (medical, legal, veterinary, financial, etc.), or to establish a professional-client relationship. The site and services are provided "as is" with no warranty or representations by JustAnswer regarding the qualifications of Experts. To see what credentials have been verified by a third-party service, please click on the "Verified" symbol in some Experts' profiles. JustAnswer is not intended or designed for EMERGENCY questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals.

Show MoreShow Less

Ask Your Question

x