How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site. Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask RobertJDFL Your Own Question
RobertJDFL, Lawyer
Category: Family Law
Satisfied Customers: 13895
Experience:  Experienced in multiple areas of the law.
Type Your Family Law Question Here...
RobertJDFL is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I have a friend that had sex with a 16 year old. he was 23

This answer was rated:

i have a friend that had sex with a 16 year old. he was 23 when it happened. can he hire a lawyer
JA: What state are you in? It matters because laws vary by location.
Customer: north carolina
JA: Has anything been filed or reported?
Customer: nothing has been filed but they are threathening him

Thank you for using Just Answer. I am a licensed attorney and look forward to helping you. How long ago was this, do you know?

Customer: replied 2 months ago.
not that long ago she just turn 17 last month

Okay, thank you.

Luckily for your friend, this is not a criminal act.

Statutory rape is defined by N.C.G.S. §14-27.7A as engaging in intercourse or another sexual act with someone who is 13, 14, or 15 years of age, and the two parties are not legally married. If the defendant is at least six years older than the victim, the offense is sentenced as a Class B1 felony. If the defendant is more than four years older than the victim, but less than six years older, then the offense is punishable as a Class C felony.

The age of consent in North Carolina is sixteen years. Under N.C. law, any individual under the age of sixteen is considered unable to consent to sexual intercourse. Thus, consent is not considered a defense to statutory rape because minors aged fifteen and under cannot by law consent to sex.

Therefore, as long as the sex was voluntary, it generally is not a criminal act, no matter how upset her parents/guardians are, and he cannot be charged with a crime. There are some limited exceptions -if he was in a position of authority over her (e.g., her teacher or counselor, for example) then the age of consent law doesn't apply.

Customer: replied 2 months ago.
he can not go to jail for this?

No, he cannot even be arrested for it. So long as the limited exceptions above I noted don't apply to him and she voluntarily consented, it's not a crime in North Carolina.

Customer: replied 2 months ago.
hes 8 years older than her. that doesnt matter?

Nope, he could be 40 years older than her. Once she's 16, if she voluntarily consents, it is legal, regardless of age difference.

RobertJDFL and 3 other Family Law Specialists are ready to help you