Employment Law Questions? Ask an Employment Lawyer.
Thank you for using Just Answer. I am a licensed attorney and look forward to helping you. I am reviewing your question and will reply back shortly.
Good evening,Under Texas law, you would be eligible to file for worker's compensation. Your injury will only be covered by workers’ compensation if you sustained the injury while performing under the “scope of employment.” This means that if you were injured while you were at work and doing your job, your injury may be eligible for a claim. Even if the injury was your fault, Texas workers’ compensation laws ensure that you are covered, unless your injury was the result of intoxication or willful negligence.In Texas, you have 30 days from the date of your injury (or 30 days after learning that your illness or injury was work-related) to inform your employer.You can qualify for medical treatment and if you need time off from work, income benefits. An employer cannot retaliate against you (such as terminating you) for filing a worker's compensation claim.If your employer doesn't offer worker's compensation then your only alternative -absent some type of agreement with the employer directly, would be to sue the employer.
My pleasure! Please remember to leave a positive rating for me by clicking on the stars, otherwise the site will not credit me for my time and assistance. And I hope you heal up soon -sounds painful!