How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site. Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Pete Your Own Question
Pete
Pete, Electronic Engineer
Category: Consumer Electronics
Satisfied Customers: 18112
Experience:  Over 16 years of experience installing and repairing electronics.
30970729
Type Your Consumer Electronics Question Here...
Pete is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Howdy. I am reviewing photos on my DMC F270 and am getting

Customer Question

Howdy. I am reviewing photos on my DMC F270 and am getting "thumbnail displayed". How do I get out of that mode. thanks Rich
JA: What's the make/model of your device? How old is it?
Customer: Its an older Lumix DMC F270
JA: How long has this been going on? What troubleshooting have you tried?
Customer: Well, I have hit most of the buttons on the camera...the message is showing up on two chips.
JA: Anything else you want the electronics expert to know before I connect you?
Customer: no thanks
Submitted: 3 months ago.
Category: Consumer Electronics
Expert:  Pete replied 3 months ago.

Hi, I'm Pete. Welcome to JustAnswer! I'm reviewing your question now, and will post back with your reply ASAP.

Expert:  Pete replied 3 months ago.

Were the 2 problem images taken on your phone?

Can you view other images ok?

Customer: replied 3 months ago.
Pete, there are multiple images all with the words "thumbnail is displayed"..this obviously appears while in the playback function. photo images behind are blurry. All photos were taken with the camera, and it looks like all images on the chip are affected. Rich
Customer: replied 3 months ago.
Pete, are you still working on this? I see I have been billed for 26.00, but the problem has not been resolved.
Expert:  Pete replied 3 months ago.

Sorry for the delay Rich, I've been looking into this for you.

Can you try viewing the images on a computer and let me know if they appear in full resolution ok there?

Customer: replied 3 months ago.
Well, Pete or whomever got this request, I am still waiting. I answered your last question....the chip reads fine on the computer, it is only in the camera when I am reviewing photos that I get the "thumbnail is displayed" print over the photos.what next?
Expert:  Pete replied 3 months ago.

Hi Rich, not sure why your reply didn't come through.

If the images are ok on the computer then the files are good, but the camera is unable to read them.

You will need to try a factory reset on the camera with the card removed:

  1. Press [MENU/SET] button.
  2. Press < / > button to select “Setup” menu and then press [MENU/SET] button.
  3. select “Reset” and then press [MENU/SET] button.
  4. When a message appears select “Yes” and then press[MENU/SET] button.