How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site. Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask George Smith Your Own Question
George Smith
George Smith, Master Electrician
Category: Electrical
Satisfied Customers: 262
Experience:  Superintendent at Electrical Solutions and Data
96521051
Type Your Electrical Question Here...
George Smith is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Second opinion] I would like to know the max size of a sub

Customer Question

Second opinion] I would like to know the max size of a sub panel I can put in my detached garage/shop. My house has a 200 amp panel.
Submitted: 5 months ago.
Category: Electrical
Expert:  George Smith replied 5 months ago.

Thanks for counting on us to help with your electrical issue. My name is ***** ***** I look forward to helping you! Let me review your question!

Expert:  George Smith replied 5 months ago.

Do you have any idea of the load you currently have on the main panel ?

Customer: replied 5 months ago.
I took some readings a few times. Normal use is 20amps on each side with our central air on.Max load was 55amps on each side. I really loaded it up. all in and outdoor lights, up and downstairs on in our 3600sq/ft home.
central AC, 6 ceiling fans, 3 bath fans, microwave, dryer, 220v air compressor, 3 radios, 2 tv’s , etc etc running. it won't realistically ever be that loaded but thats the #'s.
Expert:  George Smith replied 5 months ago.

Your dryer is that gas or electric?

Customer: replied 5 months ago.
electric
Expert:  George Smith replied 5 months ago.

Ok!

Expert:  George Smith replied 5 months ago.

What size panel are you looking to install in the garage ?

Expert:  George Smith replied 5 months ago.

The most you can have on the main is 180 amps but, I would need some time to go thru a load calculation and I would feel fine with 100 amps!

Expert:  George Smith replied 5 months ago.

Hope I was of help today?

Please give me a positive rating when your done!

Thanks !

George

Expert:  George Smith replied 5 months ago.

There is a type O in my text! it's 160 amps max on your main!

Customer: replied 5 months ago.
just wanted the largest i can safely have in the detached garage. i will have a 220v welder, 220v lift, 220v lift and 220v mill . but only 2 will most likely ever be ran at the same timewhen you say main, it makes me think of the main panel at my house or are you talking about the garage sub-panel?
Expert:  George Smith replied 5 months ago.

Yes the house!

Expert:  George Smith replied 5 months ago.

You should be fine with 100 amps in the garage.

The welder will draw the most.

Customer: replied 5 months ago.
Ok, one last thing, can you do the load calculation for me to see if 125a panel is safe?
Expert:  George Smith replied 5 months ago.

Ok I'll do 125 amps.

Except my proposal and i'l work on it tonight !