Reference to your answer/counterclaim under NJ law
Special Civil –
A Guide to the Court
2014, CN 10281
If the complaint is for money damages caused by a motor vehicle accident and the judgment requires a
defendant to pay $500 or more, the defendant must pay within 60 days.
If the defendant does not pay
within the 60 days, the plaintiff may request through the Clerk of the Special Civil Part that the New
Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission stop the defendant's driving and registration privileges until the
judgment is pai
Filing Fees for
for filing a complaint in Special Civil are:
$50 for a complaint where the amount claimed is $3,000 or less.
$75 for a complaint where the amount claimed is more than $3,000.
$5 for each additional defendant.
tly the fee is $7 for each defendant served by certified and regular mail.
This is subject to
[A $3 fee, plus the court officer’s applicable mileage, is charged for one
defendant if the complaint is served personally by a court officer. Each additional defendant that
you may want a court officer to personally serve is another $
5 fee plus applicable court officer
mileage.] Staff of the Special Civil Part Court can inform you of the mileage fee. Make a check
or money order payable to the
Treasurer, State of New Jersey
An additional $100 fee is required for requests for a jury trial by six jurors.
If you cannot afford to pay the filing fees, you may apply to the court to qualify as an indigent and your
filing fees may be waived by the jud
to a Complaint
If you have been named as a defendant in a case, you must file a written answer to the complaint with
the Clerk of the Special Civil Part in the county in which the complaint was filed within the number of
days stated in the summons (35 days if you reside or are located in New Jersey; 35 days if you reside or
are located out of state).
You also must hand deliver a copy of the answer or send by regular and certified mail to the plaintiff or send by regular mail to the plaintiff’s attorney. [
A pro se answer packet
with accompanying instructions is available in any New Jersey Special Civil Part Clerk’s Office and is
available on the Internet at
If you believe that the plaintiff owes
you money, you must add a counterclaim to the answer.
If you believe that someone else named as a defendant in the complaint owes the money, you must add a cross
claim against that defendant to the answer.
You must serve the co-defendant(s) with your cross claim.
Finally, if you believe that a party not named in the complaint owes the money, you must add a third
party complaint to the answer.
The Court will serve the new party you are adding to the case and you
MUST pay for this service, as outlined above.
When filing an answer, be sure to give the following information:
The docket number and caption of the case which appears on the complaint.
Your full name, address
and telephone number.
The correct name(s) and address(es) of the plaintiff(s).
The reason(s) you are disputing the plaintiff's claim.
Include the amount of money for which
you are suing if you are including a counterclaim, cross claim or third party complaint with your
Provide a completed summons form if you are filing a 3
rd party complaint.