My name is XXXXX XXXXX I'd be happy to answer your questions today.
In Utah, distributing pornography to a minor is a third degree felony. Each time pornography is showed, that's a separate offense. Utah Code, Section 76-10-1206
. For a first offense, the punishment is a minimum fine of $1,000, plus $10 per item showed to the minor. The person can also be sentenced between 14 days and five years of imprisonment. The 14 days is mandatory. The fines increase for second or subsequent convictions. The person may have the opportunity to negotiate a plea bargain in an effort to minimize jail time and get time to make payments on the fine.
If the person accused is under the age of 18, it is a misdemeanor
with lower maximum penalties, but the minimums are the same.
Because jail is mandatory, any person accused of distributing child pornography that cannot afford a lawyer has a right to have one appointed at no cost. That is done at the initial appearance.
If you have any questions or concerns about what I've written, please reply so that I may address them. It's important to me that you are 100% satisfied with the service I provide. Otherwise, please rate my service positively so that I get credit for answering your question. Thank you.