1. The price varies drastically, so there's unfortunately no way for me to give you an estimate. The best way to find out is to call around.
2. Probably not. He could request it, but the DA often isn't even assigned to the case until the day of the arraignment. That means that, if he filed a request now, he'd probably just get a response asking for more time - and they get 30 days anyway. If the hearing is less than 30 days away, there's no way to guarantee you would get the evidence before then, and no right to insist upon it.
3. If you are unrepresented, you can request another court date. if you have a lawyer, he'll speak for you.
4. It depends. If the judge asks for bail, and you're not able to post bail, yes, you could go to jail until you are able to come up with it. Usually, you can hire a bail bondsman for 10% of the cost - someone will be nearby, and your lawyer can help with that.
5. I'm sorry, but I can't answer these, because there are philosophical questions. How can someone be a jerk? I don't know. The short answer is that life is unfair, and bad things sometimes happen to good people. As far as justice - the proceedings themselves are about getting justice. Justice will be served when the charges are dismissed. That's why you get hearings instead of just getting thrown in jail.
6. Theft is the unlawful taking and carrying away of the personal property of another with the intent to permanently deprive him of the property. The intent to deprive must exist at the time of the taking. Fraud if when you get them to give you the money by lying, and it's also part of theft. Scam is just another word for fraud.
7. A lawyer who is not licensed in Maryland cannot represent you in Maryland court without getting special permission from the bar association. You seem to be worried about cost, and that's going to cost you a lot more money. The only reason to do that is if you have an attorney that already knows you, and the case, and that you have a pre-existing relationship with them. Otherwise, you're just paying double for two unknown lawyers.
8. A victim of a crime cannot just "drop" the charges. Once the case is handed over to the police, it's up to them (and the DA) to decide whether to proceed. She can say that she doesn't want you to go to jail, but they don't have to listen to her.
9. False reporting of a crime is a misdemeanor
. Most people do not go to jail - it's usually just a fine.