How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site. Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Hammer O'Justice Your Own Question
Hammer O'Justice
Hammer O'Justice, Criminal Lawyer
Category: Criminal Law
Satisfied Customers: 4502
Experience:  Almost 12 years of legal experience, primarily in criminal law
Type Your Criminal Law Question Here...
Hammer O'Justice is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

In the state of Ohio, what is the minimum and maximum penalty

This answer was rated:

In the state of Ohio, what is the minimum and maximum penalty for the illegal possession of painkillers? Assume this is a first time offense and the quantity possessed was just 1-7 pills.

Do you happen to know what kind of painkillers they were?
Customer: replied 7 years ago.

we can use the brand Ultram as an example if necessary, but information on more and less powerful painkillers would be appreciated.

Most painkillers are a Schedule IV narcotic, so possession is a first degree misdemeanor, which carries up to six months in jail and/or a $1000 fine. Tramadol (Ultram) is not really assigned a schedule but is usually treated as a Schedule IV drug. Some more potent painkillers are Schedule II narcotics (such as Oxycodone), which are fifth degree felonies that can carry six-twelve months in jail.
Hammer O'Justice and 3 other Criminal Law Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 7 years ago.
for a first time offense as mentioned, what is used to determine whether a fine or jail time is given to the criminal?
For a first time offense of a small quantity like that, a defendant will usually be offered probation with some sort of drug treatment. Jail time is fairly unlikely for first offenders with a small quantity.