California Employment Law
Have California Employment Law Questions? Ask a Lawyer.
It means that you need to quickly file an appeal from the denial of your application for benefits to tell your side, to tell unemployment that your employer lied, that you did not quit (section 1256) and therefore you did not make false claim (section 1257A) that you were laid off when you applied for unemployment benefits. You must file your appeal within 30 days of the date of mailing of the notice to you-- within 30 days of the date on the notice, NOT from the date you received the notice. For more information, click on the link below: