How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask LawTalk Your Own Question
LawTalk
LawTalk, Attorney
Category: California Employment Law
Satisfied Customers: 37639
Experience:  I have 30 years of experience in the practice of law, including employment law and discrimination law.
15277592
Type Your California Employment Law Question Here...
LawTalk is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Ok so about split shift again do I have to show on pay stub

This answer was rated:

Ok so about split shift again do I have to show on pay stub ...like I pay a girl 10 a hour and she works 8-6 brk 130-330 how would time card have to be is it ok in at 8 out at 130 in at 330 out at 6 right. And it's ok pay stub just says 40 hour a week at 10 dollars a hour.

Good morning Jocelyn,

Thank you for asking for me.

Your time card would show her clocking out for those 2 hours and working only the 8 hours in the day. The time card would read in at 8AM out at 130PM in at 330PM out at 6PM.

The pay stub would show just the 8 hours actually worked and at the hourly rate for that day, and a total of 40 in the week if that is what they work. Overtime must be paid for more than 40 hours worked in the work-week.

You also should consider asking them to provide a written request, dated and signed by each employee, asking to have those 2 hours off during each shift, and then place them in each of their files.

You may reply back to me again if you have additional questions, and I will continue to assist you.

I wish you the best in your future,

Doug

Customer: replied 3 years ago.
Ok so I thought I need to pay the split shift a extra hour don't i ?if it's two hours not one .
Hi Jocelyn,

Sorry for any confusion.

As the employees are working in a residential facility and are deemed personal attendants, you do not pay overtime, nor do you pay a split shift hour if they take more then 1 hour off in the middle of a shift.

And if an employee asks YOU if they can take time off, as opposed to you demanding that they take the 2 hour break instead of a one hour break---then they cannot claim a split shift payment of one hour either.

If they work 8AM, out at 130PM in at 330PM out at 6PM, then they get paid only for 8 hours that day.

You may reply back to me again if you have additional questions, and I will continue to assist you.

I wish you the best in your future,

Doug
Customer: replied 3 years ago.
Ok even if they are not live in right . They are personal attendent even if they are not live ins and split shifts don't have to be paid extra hour...
Correct.
LawTalk and other California Employment Law Specialists are ready to help you

Related California Employment Law Questions