How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Cher Your Own Question

Cher
Cher, Master's Degree
Category: Writing Homework
Satisfied Customers: 18553
Experience:  MA, BA Author. Teacher, Tutor 35+ years. Specializing in Language and Writing
Type Your Writing Homework Question Here...
Cher is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I need to write a reponse letter for a customer complaint.

Resolved Question:

I need to write a reponse letter for a customer complaint. For school I have no idea how to start
Submitted: 10 months ago.
Category: Writing Homework
Expert:  Cher replied 10 months ago.

Hello, Annamarie and welcome back to Just Anwer!

My name is XXXXX XXXXX it will be my pleasure to assist you today, if I am able.

Do you know the nature of the customer's complaint? Can you provide a few more details?

By when do you need this completed?

Thanks for all your additional information.
Cher

Customer: replied 10 months ago.

Hi Cher, seems my replay did not went through last night.


Here is the assignment.


 


Thank you


 


 


ENGL 206


Response to a Customer Complaint


You are the field service manager for DDG Fiber Optics. This morning you received the following letter from Grady McKenzie at Terra Computers in Dallas, Texas.


 


Recently, our company purchased two F-24Z Illuminators for use in our facilities. The product does not live up to its specifications. First, one unit is causing eye strain in our employees. Although your catalog promises that the Illuminator meets IES/ANSI human visual comfort standards and eliminates direct glare on computer screens, several operators have complained of eye strain. Second, the other unit malfunctions intermittently. At times the light goes out completely; at other times the light flickers. Your field service office has sent three technicians to fix the Illuminator but the problems persist. It would appear that your technicians do not know what they are doing or that the units are beyond repair, perhaps as a result of a manufacturing error.


Our employees are suffering and we are missing deadlines due to downtime when your techs are on site. We need an immediate solution to this problem.


 


Write a letter to Mr. McKenzie at Terra Computers advising him of how your company will solve the problem.


Requirements:



  • Clear statement of the problem and your solution

  • Logical organization

  • Appropriate tone (you attitude)

  • Correct letter format (block style.) Refer to our textbook for examples. Create addresses for both companies.

  • 6C’s: clear, complete, concise, concrete, courteous, correct

Expert:  Cher replied 10 months ago.
Hi again, Annamarie and thanks for your helpful reply.

I'm sorry you had a problem getting your response through to me, last night.

I can help you with this, but as you may know, I don't have access to your textbook to view examples, so you can change anything that needs to be changed, once I send you my version of the letter.

By when do you need this completed?

Best regards,
Cher
Customer: replied 10 months ago.

Saturday around noon, Eastern time. thank you


Here is just a couple of guide lines :


Response Letter


For this week's assignment, you are writing a response to a customer complaint.


Keep the following Best Practices in mind as you write your letter:



  • Consider how you can best maintain goodwill with your customer and how you can satisfy the customer's needs.

  • Remember your audience and consider the customer's level of technical knowledge. Put yourself in the customer's shoes and try to write a letter that the customer will find professional, pleasant, and a letter that provides all the information the customer needs to settle the complaint.



  • Be very clear about what action steps your company will take and what action steps the customer is required to take.



 
















































CATEGORY



10 Excellent



8-9 Good



6-7 Fair



0-5 Poor



Format/Visual Appeal





Complies with all the requirements for a business letter. Professional appearance with visual appeal.



Complies with almost all the requirements for a business letter.


Eye appeal is solid to good.



Complies with several of the requirements for a business letter. Eye appeal is marred by some formatting problems. Font style detracts from the message or is unprofessional.



Complies with less than 75% of the requirements for a business letter. No eye appeal. White space is not used.


 



Mechanics



Sentences are complete, well-constructed and of varied structure. Writer makes no errors that interfere with meaning.



All sentences are complete and well-constructed (no fragments, no run-ons). Writer makes minimal errors in grammar and/or spelling.



Most sentences are complete and well-constructed. Writer makes some errors in grammar and/or spelling.



Many sentence fragments or run-on sentences. Sentences may be incoherent. Writer makes numerous and/or serious errors in grammar and/or spelling.



Content Accuracy



The letter clearly states the problem and the solution with an accurate explanation of the event that caused the complaint and a logical plan for solving the problem.



The letter states the problem and a reasonable solution but either one or both may lack development.



The letter states the problem and a solution, but either the problem or the solution is unclear and underdeveloped.



The letter does not state the problem or solution clearly and is very confusing.



Tone



Tone is positive, personal, professional and considerate. Proposed solutions are win/win. Demonstrates strong you-attitude.



Tone is neutral, somewhat professional, and mostly considerate. Solutions provided are mostly win/win but perhaps somewhat lopsided. Demonstrates you-attitude overall.



Tone is negative or wishy-washy, unprofessional and inconsiderate at times. Solutions provided are unworkable or lopsided. Lacks you-attitude.



Negative tone, selfish attitude, unprofessional. No solutions or completely “me oriented” solutions provided. Lacks you-attitude.



Organization





All ideas are clearly connected and sentences and paragraphs are woven together smoothly with effective use of transitions. Logical plan of organization.


 


 


 



On the whole, ideas are clearly connected, but a few shifts in thought or missing transitions retard the smooth flow of ideas. Logical plan of organization.


 


 


 


 



Attempt at organization is apparent, but the connections between ideas are often loose, and the reader may have difficulty following the relationships among ideas.


 


 



Unclear organization. Disjointed thoughts with no logical progression of ideas.


 


 


 


 


 






Expert:  Cher replied 10 months ago.
Hi again, Annamarie and thanks for your helpful reply.

I will have this for you by or before your deadline.

Best regards,
Cher
Customer: replied 10 months ago.

Hi Cher,


 


Thank you


 


Annamarie

Expert:  Cher replied 10 months ago.
You're most welcome, Annamarie.

I'll post back when the letter is completed.

Best regards,
Cher

PS: no reply or additional information is needed at this time, even though this must be sent as a 'request for information'. : )
Expert:  Cher replied 10 months ago.
Hi again, Annamarie.

Please click HERE to download your letter. If you have any problems with the download, please let me know; also, please let me know as soon as you download and save the file to your computer. Thank you!


If you need any additional information or clarification, simply 'Reply' back before rating and I will be happy to help with any follow up questions. Please do not rate negatively if you still need information. Just click "Reply" instead. Thank you!

If you found my answer helpful, a Positive Rating and Positive feedback on the survey, would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! Laughing

If you would like to request me to answer any new, future questions, please begin your post with "For Cher Only" and I will respond as soon as possible.

Warmest regards,

Cher

Cher, Master's Degree
Category: Writing Homework
Satisfied Customers: 18553
Experience: MA, BA Author. Teacher, Tutor 35+ years. Specializing in Language and Writing
Cher and other Writing Homework Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 10 months ago.

Thank you Cher It is great and thank you for your quick response.


 

Expert:  Cher replied 10 months ago.
Hi again, Annamarie.

Thanks very much for your excellent rating and most generous bonus; they are greatly appreciated!

Best wishes,
Cher

PS: No additional information is needed; this is simply a 'thank you', so please disregard any prompts you may automatically receive from the system. : )

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
< Last | Next >
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
  • He answered my question promptly and gave me accurate, detailed information. If all of your experts are half as good, you have a great thing going here. Diane Dallas, TX
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • verbsrule

    Bachelor's Degree

    Satisfied Customers:

    435
    8 yrs teaching experience in English and history. Writing consultant.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/VE/verbsrule/2013-3-25_232622_MamaandEllie.64x64.jpg verbsrule's Avatar

    verbsrule

    Bachelor's Degree

    Satisfied Customers:

    435
    8 yrs teaching experience in English and history. Writing consultant.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/SP/spherrod/2012-6-6_174244_1000852.64x64.JPG Steve Herrod's Avatar

    Steve Herrod

    Master's Degree

    Satisfied Customers:

    419
    Masters in Literature and a Bachelors Degree in French with Management
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/GY/gypsydust1/2012-3-31_71657_me3a.64x64.jpg DXJ Writer's Avatar

    DXJ Writer

    Master's Degree

    Satisfied Customers:

    350
    Research writer, educator, tutor with 20+ years experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ST/stayathomemomof2/2012-3-20_152711_cameracleanup362012653.64x64.JPG stayathomemomof2's Avatar

    stayathomemomof2

    Bachelor's Degree

    Satisfied Customers:

    198
    Freelance writer.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ED/educatortech/2012-6-7_1256_williams4.64x64.jpg Mr. Gregory White's Avatar

    Mr. Gregory White

    Master's Degree

    Satisfied Customers:

    173
    M.A., M.S. Education / Educational Administration
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JU/judybailey61/2012-6-23_23846_Resized.64x64.jpg judybailey61's Avatar

    judybailey61

    Bachelor's Degree

    Satisfied Customers:

    158
    Two years writing expert with justanswer.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MB/MBJC11/2012-6-6_171228_1837551861548780869311000007725919373587357549561n.64x64.jpg Eric M.'s Avatar

    Eric M.

    Master's Degree

    Satisfied Customers:

    148
    Five years in academia, over a dozen peer-reviewed publications, multiple best paper awards, working toward PhD.
 
 
 

Related Writing Homework Questions