How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask RobJackson Your Own Question

RobJackson
RobJackson, VW Mechanic
Category: VW
Satisfied Customers: 418
Experience:  Started working in VW/Audi dealership in 1999. 2009 Registered and Certified VW Tech. ASE Master
21042506
Type Your VW Question Here...
RobJackson is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

2001 VW Cabrio: that has no horn...the alarms work..relay..inspection

Resolved Question:

I have a 2001 VW Cabrio that has no horn...the alarms work and it beeps when I lock it. I've tried the fuse and the relay to no avail.

Where exactly is the horn that sounds for inspection puposes? Diagrams say there is one under the grill...there is nothing..only the radiator.
What else should I consider..short of an air horn?

Thanks for your help!
Submitted: 5 years ago.
Category: VW
Expert:  RobJackson replied 5 years ago.
The horns are under the car behind the bumper on the pass side. Do you hear a relay click under the dash when the horn button is pushed. If you do not then the spiral spring may be the problem. That is the electrical connection between the steering wheel and the steering column. I would double check fuse 13 it is a 10 amp fuse. The high and low horn are just that. You have 2 horns in your car one is a high tone and the other is a low one. the seat heaters have nothing to do with the horns and are not related.
Customer: replied 5 years ago.

Hi Rob,

 

No there is no clicking when the horn is pressed, I've had 2 guys checking this out.

Yikes..if it's the spiral spring, what do I do to fix the problem?

Expert:  RobJackson replied 5 years ago.
If it is the spiral spring then the steering wheel comes off and the spring is replaced. There are a few checks before you do that. first is fuse 13 good. Then if you already have checked the relay can you sound the horn if the relay is shorted terminal 2 to ground?
Customer: replied 5 years ago.

Yes, I've checked the fuse..it's good. The relay terminal 2 being shorted to ground..how is that done? (Is this the relay at the fuse panel? or is there another?) I've replaced that relay already as the parts store guy suggested that to be the problem.

 

Should I still try to short it? I will need specific instruction..my friend may know how to, but as of yet, we've been unable to locate the horn itself. It's late now and he is not here to help out.

 

Or should I go to the spring in the steering column? How is that done?

 

Thanks!

Expert:  RobJackson replied 5 years ago.
I wouldn't do anything with the spring unless you know exactly what you are doing becuase it involves the airbag. if you look on the relay you already replaced there is a picture on the side of the relay and it shows a sort of wiring diagram. you will see that each connector is labeled. terminal 2 get connector 87 plugged into it. If you take a jumper wire and insert it where connector 87 would go and then touch that to ground the horns should go off.
Customer: replied 5 years ago.

I will look further into this tomorrow evening..will try the terminal 2 connector 87 and a jumper wire. ..how long of a wire?

If it should involve the spring...are you able to walk us through that??

 

This car has been very good...unless she is very bad! (Hence the name Crabby!)

Expert:  RobJackson replied 5 years ago.
Lets try the wire first, i can give you instructions on the spring. just let me know first on the jumper thanks
RobJackson, VW Mechanic
Category: VW
Satisfied Customers: 418
Experience: Started working in VW/Audi dealership in 1999. 2009 Registered and Certified VW Tech. ASE Master
RobJackson and 3 other VW Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I would (and have) recommend your site to others I was quite satisfied with the quality of the information received, the professional with whom I interacted, and the quick response time. Thanks, and be sure that I'll be back whenever I need a question answered in a hurry. Stephanie P Elm City, NC
< Last | Next >
  • I would (and have) recommend your site to others I was quite satisfied with the quality of the information received, the professional with whom I interacted, and the quick response time. Thanks, and be sure that I'll be back whenever I need a question answered in a hurry. Stephanie P Elm City, NC
  • used your service this weekend with "Trecers" help. thank you ,thank you, thank you. replaced an A/C fan motor. Local Auto Zone had part. $15.00 "tracer" fee and $40.00 for parts, I saved several hundreds of dollers at a shop. i will recommend you and use you in the future. David L. Richmond, TX
  • 9 dollars, 2 hours of my time, and I drove away. Your diagnosis was right on the mark. Thank you so much. Phil Marysville, CA
  • Lurch. Thank you very much. I had real doubts about this website but your promptness of response, quick followup and to the point answer with picture was incredible. Charles Walnut Creek, CA
  • As a single woman, I really appreciate an excellent and affordable opinion.
    Thank you Geordie, I will not hesitate to contact justanswer in the future!
    Sue Charleston, WV
  • Another great insight to what may be the problem. I will have my mechanic take a look at it tomorrow. Thanks again, Frank...you do indeed know your stuff. Jim Castleberry, FL
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • vwnewton

    VW Owner,ASE Master and L1 Advanced

    Satisfied Customers:

    307
    25 years of VW obsession turned into a job, last 15 years as a VW Tech.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/vwnewton/2008-12-27_221405_JA_avatar.jpg vwnewton's Avatar

    vwnewton

    VW Owner,ASE Master and L1 Advanced

    Satisfied Customers:

    307
    25 years of VW obsession turned into a job, last 15 years as a VW Tech.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/audidoc/2008-12-23_175252_headshot.jpg VWDoc's Avatar

    VWDoc

    Independent VW Shop owner

    Satisfied Customers:

    1713
    20 years of experience working with VW's. Independent European shop owner and technician.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/35/350matt/2012-6-7_182356_matsavatr.64x64.jpg Matt's Avatar

    Matt

    Engineer

    Satisfied Customers:

    506
    Mechanical Engineer with 20 years experience in the auto industry, 8 yrs in formula 1 engine testing
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CA/carbezerk/2011-3-13_103612_SAM0048.64x64.JPG Martin's Avatar

    Martin

    auto electrical

    Satisfied Customers:

    475
    South African Trade Diploma in Auto Electrical
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/terocoga/2009-08-17_050126_015.JPG RobJackson's Avatar

    RobJackson

    VW Mechanic

    Satisfied Customers:

    416
    Started working in VW/Audi dealership in 1999. 2009 Registered and Certified VW Tech. ASE Master
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TI/tim37857/2011-10-28_23053_S6301814.64x64.JPG Tim's Auto Repair's Avatar

    Tim's Auto Repair

    mechanic

    Satisfied Customers:

    397
    Have owned a repair shop for 25 yrs.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RO/rodcuda/2011-7-25_224114_Donhoff1.64x64.JPG Neal's Avatar

    Neal

    VW Mechanic

    Satisfied Customers:

    391
    Shop owner and experienced in most brands.
 
 
 
Chat Now With A VW Mechanic
RobJackson
RobJackson
Shop Foreman
416 Satisfied Customers
Started working in VW/Audi dealership in 1999. 2009 Registered and Certified VW Tech. ASE Master