How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Dr. David Your Own Question
Dr. David
Dr. David, MD
Category: Urology
Satisfied Customers: 42801
Experience:  Experienced physican in Urology
41363181
Type Your Urology Question Here...
Dr. David is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Need someone to review blood work and semen analysis

Customer Question

Need someone to review blood work and semen analysis
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Urology
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Hi, my wife and I have been trying to have children with no success, I have attached my blood work and semen analysis...I need detailed info about how good or bad it is, if its bad news, we just need to knowThanks
Expert:  Dr. David replied 1 year ago.

This is Dr. David

your sperm is actually pretty good.

you have 38million per ml, over 15 million is normal.

your motility is 69%, grade 0 is the best motility and you have 49% there.

so it doesn't look like it is your sperm which is the problem.

your wife has to do some testing as well.

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Hi, what about the morphology? Are there any WBCs? Where does it say 69% and 49%? I was told I had 44%.I attached my wife's results with this message.
Expert:  Dr. David replied 1 year ago.

under sperm data all the way to the right it says Tot Mot which is total motility and under it says 69.76

but at the very bottom it says you have >40% total motility.

some WBC cells are normal.

MTHFR deficiency is a mild condition associated with a slightly higher risk of neural tube defects and pregnancy loss. Roughly 40% of Americans are carriers of MTHFR deficiency, while 10% have the condition. For the vast majority, it causes no problems with their health or the health of their children.

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Do I need to be concerned about WBCs? Why are only some normal? How about morphology?
Expert:  Dr. David replied 1 year ago.

you don't have to worry about WBC count

it is less than 2 million

so that is fine. doesn't mean there is infection.

let me know if you have other questions.

if done for now, please leave positive rating above the chat box so I can get credit for helping you today

we only get credit for helping clients after positive feedback

you can always reach me with "a question for Dr. David" in the medicine or oncology categories if you have any other questions

here is my website if you need to reach me again:

http://www.justanswer.com/medical/expert-dr-david/

Thanks for using JustAnswers.com

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Thanks, ***** ***** for information about morphology....can you give us insight to that after re-reading the report?
Expert:  Dr. David replied 1 year ago.

your kruger score is >4% normal which is good, it would be better to be >14%

here are the levels of kruger score for morphology

Strict morphology score over 14 % normal: (normal; fertilizing capacity excellent)

Strict morphology score 4-14 % normal: (abnormal; possibly decreased or impaired fertilizing capacity)

Strict morphology score 0-3% normal: (abnormal; severe impairment or probable inability to fertilize.

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I was told I had 0% morphology, where do you see 4%? Are you familiar with Kruger testing?
Expert:  Dr. David replied 1 year ago.

I am sorry. I was reading the WHO normal levels at the bottom as your results.

your WBC count is zero under Description. you have no WBC in your sperm.

the motility is good at 49% grade 0 which is the best motility

morphology is bad at 100% abnormal and 100% amorphous sperm.

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
does this mean we will be unable to have children due to the 100% abnormal morphology?
Expert:  Dr. David replied 1 year ago.

the chances are lowered because of teh abnormal morphology

but there is a chance with artificial IVF fertilization where they can take a sperm and implant it in an egg and implant the embryo into your wife to have a baby.

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Ok....thanks, ***** ***** IUI? How dangerous and how painful is IVF for her?
Expert:  Dr. David replied 1 year ago.

IVF is not dangerous and is not painful.

IUI may not work for you if you have severe morphology problems in the sperm.

IVF should work for her.

the next step is to consult with an IVF specialist.

do you have an appointment?

Expert:  Dr. David replied 1 year ago.

let me know if you have other questions.

if done for now, please leave positive rating above the chat box so I can get credit for helping you today

we only get credit for helping clients after positive feedback

you can always reach me with "a question for Dr. David" in the medicine or oncology categories if you have any other questions

here is my website if you need to reach me again:

http://www.justanswer.com/medical/expert-dr-david/

Thanks for using JustAnswers.com