How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Thomas Your Own Question

Thomas
Thomas, Lawyer
Category: UK Property Law
Satisfied Customers: 6435
Experience:  BA (Hons), PgDip, Practising Solicitor
28732269
Type Your UK Property Law Question Here...
Thomas is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I am a tenant and have inspections every three months. At

Resolved Question:

I am a tenant and have inspections every three months.
At the last inspection the inspectors took pictures is that legal?
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: UK Property Law
Expert:  Thomas replied 2 years ago.
Hi
Thanks for your question.
To enable me to answer your question could you please respond to the following using the same numbering:-
1. What does your tenancy agreement say about visitations and photos?
-
Kind regards.
Tom
Customer: replied 2 years ago.
I doesn't say anything. Plus the never renewed our contract after the 3rd year.
Expert:  Thomas replied 2 years ago.
Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

Usually a tenancy agreement might say that the landlord/agent is permitted to make visitations upon reasonably notice for the purpose of checking the state of the property. If the last tenancy agreement did not state this then you are under no obligation to permit the access if you are not inclined to.

Check your tenancy agreement to ensure that the clause is not there and then refuse on this basis.

If you don’t mind the visitations but just do not wish to for photos to be taken and there is no clause permitting visitations then just state this to them as a condition of you granting access.

If there is a clause permitting visitations then if you refuse then you would be in breach of contract. The contract governs your situation and if there is no clause stating that photos are allowed to be taken then you can refuse. In reality though, if they did take photos there is not really that much that you could do to enforce the breach. Litigating on the point would be pointless, because you can only get compensation for direct loss that you suffer under English contract law.

I can’t really see that there is a claimable head under a breach of privacy either really unfortuanately. My advice would be to check the last tenancy agreement you had and then practically and pragmatically attempt to manage the situation. The downside is that you are now occupying under a Statutory Periodic tenancy, so they could serve a s21 notice at any time for any reason and apply for an order for possession once the notice has expired (notice period two months).

If this has been useful please kindly click accept so that I may be rewarded for my time. If you do not click accept your money stays with the site and I do not receive any credit for the time I have taken to answer your question. You will not be charged any further money for clicking accept.

If you wish for me to provide you with further guidance on any question you may have in the future then please submit a further question to the board requesting me either by my profile or by marking your question. “FAO Tom”.


Kind regards,


Tom
Thomas, Lawyer
Category: UK Property Law
Satisfied Customers: 6435
Experience: BA (Hons), PgDip, Practising Solicitor
Thomas and other UK Property Law Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick Leeds, UK
< Last | Next >
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick Leeds, UK
  • I did not know a French Law service existed and I was very impressed with the speed of reply --- very professional. Many thanks! Ms. Baker Alfafar, Spain
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie USA
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4433
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/Josh2010/2012-4-29_19490_GettyImages80121770B.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4433
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TO/touchwoodsden/JA.64x64.jpg Law Denning's Avatar

    Law Denning

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2289
    PGD Law. 20 years legal profession, 6 as partner in High Street practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RE/Remus2004/2012-4-22_93111_2bigstockPortraitOfConfidentFemaleL6943985.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    2244
    Over 5 years in practice.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TG/TGraham12/2012-7-17_81212_bigstockBusinessHandshake508163.64x64.jpg Thomas's Avatar

    Thomas

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    1198
    BA (Hons), PgDip, Practising Solicitor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CH/chathamchamber/2011-4-24_191833_1.64x64.jpg INC's Avatar

    INC

    Solicitor-Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    809
    LL.B, Pg.Dip, LL.M, M.B.A (Pending), Solicitor-Advocate. UK Practising Certificate issued by SRA., DIFC Courts Registered (Dubai)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/AJ/ajlaj01/2012-5-9_14051_Profile1.64x64.jpg Alex J.'s Avatar

    Alex J.

    Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    400
    LPC, 2 Years Conveyancing
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    212
    Barrister 17 years experience