How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Jo C. Your Own Question

Jo C.
Jo C., Barrister
Category: UK Law
Satisfied Customers: 63897
Experience:  Over 5 years in practice.
Type Your UK Law Question Here...
Jo C. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

can i make a complaint against my ex partner for physical and

Resolved Question:

can i make a complaint against my ex partner for physical and emotional damage
Submitted: 11 months ago.
Category: UK Law
Expert:  Jo C. replied 11 months ago.
Hi

Thank you for your question and welcome to Just Answer. My name is XXXXX XXXXX X will try to help with this.

-Could you explain your situation a little more?

Customer: replied 11 months ago.


my ex partner and i have split up for 8 years on and off due to our children being in care all this time hes hurt me physically calling me names which put me right down one min says he loves me but then hates me i feel like he used me he violated me im depressed and confused and screwed up i cannot get on with my life because he has damaged me that much i cant trust anyone if i ever find anyone else he has tormented me with pics of girls hes suppose to be sleeping with hes making my life hell what can i do can i sue him or something i cant carry on like this anymore.

Expert:  Jo C. replied 11 months ago.
In what way did he hurt you physically and when?
Customer: replied 11 months ago.


there was a domestic abuse in 2007 where he hit me punched me kicked me when i was preganant with my 4th and even on going abuse when we been on and off i tried to keep away but he had a way of getting to me my head is all screwed up by everything i dont know where or who to turn at moment hes controlling who or where i go i ve had enough police been involved always have but we seem to make up then break up coz he gets to me but now hes put an allegations where i harrasment him which is true because im having a go at him for things hes doing wrong like grooming girls of internet police have been involved then he uses my 2 children to claim child benefit when they dont live with him benefit fraud team have been involved but this morning he text me accusing me of more threats etc when i havent done anything since receiving warning from police he threathening me saying im paying the price i ve not not thing wrong but look out for my children

Expert:  Jo C. replied 11 months ago.
You can report this to the police.

However, most of what you describe is a relationship issue. It may well be unacceptable conduct but its for you to regulate. The police would not be able to take action over things like name calling as thats not an offence.

Acts of violence are offences of course. However, if they are more than six months old then they are out of time for a prosecution for common assault. It might well be that the injuries exceed common assault but you have to prove that or you would be time barred.

Also, unfortunately if you make an allegation subsequent to him making a report about you of harassment then he will seize upon that and say it is a revenge complaint. That doesn't mean you cannot succeed but its an obvious point for him to take.

You may still be able to get injunctions from the family courts but you will have to show more recent acts of wrongdoing on his part. You might be able to do so but that is the test.

I'm very sorry if this is bad news.

Can I clarify anything for you?

Jo
Jo C., Barrister
Category: UK Law
Satisfied Customers: 63897
Experience: Over 5 years in practice.
Jo C. and 3 other UK Law Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick Leeds, UK
< Last | Next >
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick Leeds, UK
  • I did not know a French Law service existed and I was very impressed with the speed of reply --- very professional. Many thanks! Ms. Baker Alfafar, Spain
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie USA
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Ben Jones

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    8364
    Specialist in UK Law with expertise in UK Employment Law
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/venkoj/2010-02-20_133027_ben_pic.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    8364
    Specialist in UK Law with expertise in UK Employment Law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CH/chathamchamber/2011-4-24_191833_1.64x64.jpg INC's Avatar

    INC

    Solicitor-Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    3850
    LL.B, Pg.Dip, LL.M, M.B.A (Pending), Solicitor-Advocate. UK Practising Certificate issued by SRA., DIFC Courts Registered (Dubai)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/taratill/2010-03-09_111600_phpsik04M_c2AM.jpg Jenny Mackenzie's Avatar

    Jenny Mackenzie

    Satisfied Customers:

    2612
    Over 10 years experience in general legal matters
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/matthewjones/2009-9-7_20342_picture_007.jpg Matthew J's Avatar

    Matthew J

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    323
    4 y PQE (Partner) - Commercial / Residential Property & Property and Civil litigation experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TO/touchwoodsden/2013-12-6_91518_MeforJA.64x64.jpg Stuart J's Avatar

    Stuart J

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    5198
    PGD Law. 20 years legal profession, 6 as partner in High Street practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RE/Remus2004/2012-4-22_93111_2bigstockPortraitOfConfidentFemaleL6943985.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    24742
    Over 5 years in practice.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/Josh2010/2012-4-29_19490_GettyImages80121770B.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    6561
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice