How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Jo C. Your Own Question

Jo C.
Jo C., Barrister
Category: UK Law
Satisfied Customers: 64501
Experience:  Over 5 years in practice.
12826847
Type Your UK Law Question Here...
Jo C. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Is judicial review possible regarding police actions while

Customer Question

Is judicial review possible regarding police actions while a criminal case is still being investigated or must the defendant wait until the outcome of the police investigation?
Submitted: 1 year ago via InBrief.
Category: UK Law
Expert:  Jo C. replied 1 year ago.
Hi

Thank you for your question and welcome to Just Answer. My name is Jo and I will try to help with this.

In order to give you answer tailored to your circumstances I will need to ask you some preliminary questions so that I can consider your position from all angles.

What are you hoping to JR? Whats the decision please?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
If the police raids a company, arrests the manager and is suspected by the defendants of having given wrong or misleading information in order to get a courts approval for the raid, can the defendants ask for judicial review of that action immediately or do they have to wait until the investigation leads to an indictment or is simply dropped?
Expert:  Jo C. replied 1 year ago.



Thanks for the information.

I am sorry for any delay you are experiencing. Unfortunately there are some bugs online and have been for a while. Its not something I have control over because the site is hosted in California and I am in London.

There’s no obligation to wait until the outcome of the investigation as it has no real nexus to it. In fact, a judicial review should be brought ‘promptly or within 3 months.’. It is possible to get time extended in some circumstances but not often.

However, judicial review is a remedy of last resort when you have exhausted all other avenues. It would seem that an action against the constabulary, on the face of it, would be the place to start.

There is case law that suggests that there can be an immediate judicial review without pursuing the appeal process but that was a case involving facts that were a really radical departure from the principles of justice.

In principle though, no there is no reason to wait until the substantive matter has closed.

Hope this helps. Please let me know if you need more information.

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick Leeds, UK
< Last | Next >
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick Leeds, UK
  • I did not know a French Law service existed and I was very impressed with the speed of reply --- very professional. Many thanks! Ms. Baker Alfafar, Spain
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie USA
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Ben Jones

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    8364
    Specialist in UK Law with expertise in UK Employment Law
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/venkoj/2010-02-20_133027_ben_pic.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    8364
    Specialist in UK Law with expertise in UK Employment Law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CH/chathamchamber/2011-4-24_191833_1.64x64.jpg INC's Avatar

    INC

    Solicitor-Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    3850
    LL.B, Pg.Dip, LL.M, M.B.A (Pending), Solicitor-Advocate. UK Practising Certificate issued by SRA., DIFC Courts Registered (Dubai)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/taratill/2010-03-09_111600_phpsik04M_c2AM.jpg Jenny Mackenzie's Avatar

    Jenny Mackenzie

    Satisfied Customers:

    2612
    Over 10 years experience in general legal matters
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/matthewjones/2009-9-7_20342_picture_007.jpg Matthew J's Avatar

    Matthew J

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    323
    4 y PQE (Partner) - Commercial / Residential Property & Property and Civil litigation experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TO/touchwoodsden/2013-12-6_91518_MeforJA.64x64.jpg Stuart J's Avatar

    Stuart J

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    5198
    PGD Law. 20 years legal profession, 6 as partner in High Street practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RE/Remus2004/2012-4-22_93111_2bigstockPortraitOfConfidentFemaleL6943985.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    24742
    Over 5 years in practice.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/Josh2010/2012-4-29_19490_GettyImages80121770B.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    6561
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice