How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Thomas Your Own Question

Thomas
Thomas, Lawyer
Category: UK Law
Satisfied Customers: 6647
Experience:  BA (Hons), PgDip, Practising Solicitor
28732269
Type Your UK Law Question Here...
Thomas is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I have been informed that my boss has made a complaint against

Customer Question

I have been informed that my boss has made a complaint against me regarding "my conduct in the office" they have already stated interviwing members of staff and I have a meeting tomorrow . I have been given no information about the alleged "conduct in the office" other than that. Should I not be given a statement and details before I attend the meeting tomorrow, as I do not know what I have done!!?
Submitted: 4 years ago.
Category: UK Law
Expert:  Thomas replied 4 years ago.

DearCustomer

 

Thank you for your question.

 

Employers are bound to follow a statutory dismissal and disciplinary procedure. If they do not it may prejudice the defence to any claim you eventually make against them

 

Before the meeting you could tell them (in writing preferably, possibly by email) that you are aware that under the Employment Rights Act 2002 your employer must set out in writing the grounds for the proposed action by the employer. You can view the steps they are obliged to follow here and you can print this out if necessary:-

http://www.opsi.gov.uk/Acts/acts2002/ukpga_20020022_en_10#sch2

 

They may say that it is not a formal disciplinary meeting and that they will initiate the procedure afterwards.

 

You could well choose to keep quiet about your knowledge of your rights. If they are not up to speed with the procedure, you can play dumb, let them mess it up the procedure they are statutorily bound to follow and then you will have one legitimate ground for basis for being treated unfairly (re- unfair dismissal, if you're eligible). Be careful to act civil, do not make any knee-jerk reactions in the meeting that you may later regret

 

For more information on your options for making a claim you can speak to ACAS free on

08457 47 47 47.

 

If this has been useful please kindly click accept so that I may be rewarded for my time. It will be gratefully received and you will be free to ask follow up questions.

 

Kind regards,

 

Tom

Thomas, Lawyer
Category: UK Law
Satisfied Customers: 6647
Experience: BA (Hons), PgDip, Practising Solicitor
Thomas and other UK Law Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 4 years ago.

the wording in the letter says "we will be commencing a formal investigation into concerns raised about your professional conduct in the office. Please be aware we are not obliged to put anything in writing to you before we have completed the investigation, at which point we will specify the details of the case to you, if appropriate.

 

goe on formal investagation will commence 26/27th meeting with me tomorrow. then once the investagation is complete after review see if it warrants further investagation.

 

Is this a disciplinary action? can I have some one with me? I am not happy that this is going on in the office and if any action is taken or not, I feel as though evryone will think that I have done something wrong.

Expert:  Thomas replied 4 years ago.
Customer

No, it does not appear as if it is a disciplinary procedure yet. More of a fact finding exercise. It sounds as though they are aware of their responsibilities of as an employer and are making investigations prior to initiating the statutory procedure.

I would suggest attending the meeting and keeping your cards very close to your chest in the meeting tomorrow. If you can prove there and then that any of the that their allegations of your conduct are factually incorrect then do so but otherwise do not expose yourself to anything that could be raised against you at a later date.

Following the meeting tomorrow, they will then either initiate the procedure or not. If they do you will become entitled to be accompanied by another person to the meetings in the procedure.

People can have their own opinons, but you should not let that effect either your work generally or your response to this particular issue.



Kind regards,



Tom

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick Leeds, UK
< Last | Next >
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick Leeds, UK
  • I did not know a French Law service existed and I was very impressed with the speed of reply --- very professional. Many thanks! Ms. Baker Alfafar, Spain
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie USA
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Ben Jones

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    8364
    Specialist in UK Law with expertise in UK Employment Law
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/venkoj/2010-02-20_133027_ben_pic.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    8364
    Specialist in UK Law with expertise in UK Employment Law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CH/chathamchamber/2011-4-24_191833_1.64x64.jpg INC's Avatar

    INC

    Solicitor-Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    3850
    LL.B, Pg.Dip, LL.M, M.B.A (Pending), Solicitor-Advocate. UK Practising Certificate issued by SRA., DIFC Courts Registered (Dubai)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/taratill/2010-03-09_111600_phpsik04M_c2AM.jpg Jenny Mackenzie's Avatar

    Jenny Mackenzie

    Satisfied Customers:

    2612
    Over 10 years experience in general legal matters
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/matthewjones/2009-9-7_20342_picture_007.jpg Matthew J's Avatar

    Matthew J

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    323
    4 y PQE (Partner) - Commercial / Residential Property & Property and Civil litigation experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TO/touchwoodsden/2013-12-6_91518_MeforJA.64x64.jpg Stuart J's Avatar

    Stuart J

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    5198
    PGD Law. 20 years legal profession, 6 as partner in High Street practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RE/Remus2004/2012-4-22_93111_2bigstockPortraitOfConfidentFemaleL6943985.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    24742
    Over 5 years in practice.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/Josh2010/2012-4-29_19490_GettyImages80121770B.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    6561
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Solicitor
Thomas
Thomas
2107 Satisfied Customers
BA (Hons), PgDip, Practising Solicitor