Have Traffic Law Questions? Ask a Traffic Lawyer Online.
Just to clarify, your license in New Jersey was reinstated and then it was suspended again there?
OK, thank you.
If this is your first offense, the penalty for driving on a suspended license in Georgia is 2 days to 12 months in jail. It is a misdemeanor. It also carries a fine of up to $1000.
Because the charge is a misdemeanor as opposed to a simple infraction and does carry the possibility of jail time (even if it is unlikely you would actually get a jail sentence), it is a good idea to get a lawyer to go to court with you. Most will do it for a flat fee, and if you can't afford a lawyer, you may qualify for the public defender.
I would also suggest clearing your license up in the interim. If you can show the court that you have reinstated your license, the court will typically go easier on you and sometimes the prosecutor may even agree to drop the charges in a situation like that, particularly since you were unaware you were suspended.
It is still possible to get a decent outcome since you are a first offender even if you can't get your license straightened out before the court date. It just helps. I would still suggest getting an attorney to explain the situation to the prosecutor to see if they will cut you a break due to NJ not notifying you of the suspension.