Have Traffic Law Questions? Ask a Traffic Lawyer Online.
Thank you for your question. Please permit me to assist you with your concerns.
Was your vehicle impounded or taken in by the police?
Were you charged or already convicted of the DUI?
How long ago did this take place?
this is my first dui and i have my car back already. this took place early saturday morning 2:30 am. i refused to blow because they told me i could not speak with a lawyer so they took my license on the spot.
I see, so the state suspended your license because you refused to comply
Technically your license is not yet suspended, merely taken away.
You can contact the other state, claim that the license was misplaced, and request that they send you a replacement copy.
Or ask if you could print out a temporary license via the website (if such an option exists) solely for the ability to return home and obtain a new copy of the license from the DMV.
Does that make sense?
i was also told i should try to switch over my license to this state so i don't get charged by both states, is this correct?
yes that makes sense
Under the DLC (Driver License Compact), the states tend to share information pertaining to suspensions of licenses
by me not complying to take the test does that negate the chance to obtain a license to go to and from work?
Wisconsin is not a member
However, they may have a private agreement with Colorado about sharing information.
By you negating to take the test, you create a presumption of intoxication.
But it does not necessarily affect your conviction as you can still fight the charges, and likewise if you lose, pursue a hardship exception license IF your state (meaning colorado) has such an option
Typically the state that suspends your license is the one who can reinstate or grant you a hardship exception but not if you do not reside there and need to operate in your home state.
well i would be applying for the hardship in wisconsin
That is wise as well
is this your first offense?
Under § 343.10 that is a valid option--it is called an 'occupational license', and you would be limited to no more than 12 hours a day, 60 hours a week of driving.
And the driving is restricted based on the conditions on the license, such as to and from work or church
even if i didn't comply?
For a first offense there is no time limit, you can appl right away (and a refusal still permits you to apply) but you would also be required to get an interlock
Hope that helps. Is there anything else I can clarify for you?
one more thing
the fact that they did not grant me the right to contact a lawyer. what can i do about that?
That is something you would need to bring up with the attorney that you retain and see if civil rights were violated or if they failed to follow process
ok thank you for your help, i appreciate it
You are most welcome, glad to help. Good luck to you!
If you found my information to be useful, kindly do not forget to positively rate my answers so I can obtain credit for my work. Thank you!