Have Traffic Law Questions? Ask a Traffic Lawyer Online.
Thank you for the opportunity to assist you. What state is this charged in?
Thank you. I'm a XXXXX XXXXXcensed criminal defense attorney. Please give me a moment while I look at the code to refresh my memory.
Thanks for your patience. 18.2-416 is a class 3 misdemeanor. That means a maximum fine of $500.00 if convicted.
Did you have any other questions or concerns about this topic?
When selecting an attorney should I look for a criminal attorney this case is in juvenile and domestic court
they plaintiff is a minor
Can you be sued or anything from this charge
This is a criminal charge, so you need a criminal defense attorney. If you do not know one, consult the Virginia State Bar attorney referral service. They can help point you in the right direction.
As for being sued, probably not. There's no physical injury.
The only other cause of action civilly would be "intentional infliction of emotional distress."
If there is no injury, you can't sure for IIED in Virginia.
Sorry about my typo, what I meant is that you can't "sue" for IIED in Virginia without a physical injury.
Is there any possibility of jail time
No, a class 3 misdemeanor has a maximum penalty of $500. There is no jail time possible if convicted.
You're welcome. Anything else I can do to help you?
I hope my responses have been helpful. If you have follow-up questions or concerns on this topic, please ask. Otherwise, please rate my answer positively so that I can receive credit for my work. Doing so will NOT cost you any additional fee.Take care,Shuband