How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Loren Your Own Question
Loren
Loren, Lawyer
Category: Traffic Law
Satisfied Customers: 31475
Experience:  Former Asst State Attorney/Hearing Officer
17897874
Type Your Traffic Law Question Here...
Loren is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

i bought a used car from a dealer in pensacola fl. and did

This answer was rated:

i bought a used car from a dealer in pensacola fl. and did not know it leaked oil in several places and burns oil out the tailpipe.. do i have any rights
Thank you for using JustAnswer. I am JudgeLaw and I will do whatever I can to answer your question and provide you excellent service.

Before we begin, a bit more detail would be helpful.

Did you receive any sort of written warranty or was the car purchased AS-IS?

Thank you.

JudgeLaw
Customer: replied 3 years ago.


as is


 

Thank you for the additional information.

I am sorry to hear of your dilemma.   I realize how frustrating this is for you and I hope to provide you information which is accurate and useful, even though it may not be the news you were hoping to get.

Unfortunately, when you purchase a vehicle as-is your options are very limited with regard to any defects in the vehicle. That is the reason many people have a car examined by their own mechanic before purchasing it as is. The obligation of a seller to make repairs after an as-is sale is non existent.

If you believe that the dealer defrauded you can make a complaint to the Florida Attorney General. Sometimes that can motivate the dealer into working with you. Otherwise, i am sorry to say, the dealer has no legal obligation to repair the vehicle, take the car back or otherwise rescind the transaction.

I am sorry. I realize this is not the answer you were hoping for. As a professional, however, I am sometimes placed in the position of having to deliver news which is not favorable to a customer's position, but accurately reflects their position under the law. I hate it, but it happens and I ask that you not penalize me for having to deliver less than favorable news.

It has been my privilege to assist you. Let me know if you need further assistance.  I hope I have helped you beyond your expectations in the service I have provided to you.  I am here for you.

Please remember to rate my answer when our communication is completed so I will be compensated for my time in providing you with the information you requested.

If you feel the need to provide a low rating, please stop and reply to me via the REPLY button with whatever issue or clarification you may need. I will happily answer your follow-up questions and assist you until I am able to explain the answer to your satisfaction. Please also remember that I cannot control whether the law is favorable to your situation, so please do not penalize me for having to deliver bad news.

Thank you.

JudgeLaw
Loren and other Traffic Law Specialists are ready to help you