I was cited for speeding. VC code 22348b, 40508A and 1214.1 PC. I believe this will create two points in my driving record. I live in Nevada and I was driving through california. The ticket indicates that I was driving 110 mph. i dont' think I was driving that fast althought I know I was speeding. I have trial in a couple of days. What can I do to have the charge reduced. I believe I will be ineligible for traffic school bc of the 22348 charge?
During the arraignment I asked the judge to reduce the charge and he refused. So my only option was to request a trial date.
Hi I am the professional who would like to help you with your question today. I see it expires in 34 minutes however. First, in order for a charge to be reduced either a)you or your attorney would have to make a motion to dismiss the current charge that is granted, leaving behind only a lessor charge or b)the judge finds the prima facie evidence to be inadequate on its face to charge you with the charge but finds it successfully makes out a lessor charge, c)the prosecution decides to reduce in order to induce a plea.
The first charge is an infraction. Therefore it is not a criime and cannot be reduced in the traditional sense. The consequenses of it depend of whether or not it is your first, second or third offense for the same thing.
The second charge is more troubling. It is a misdemeanor, from what I found it is basically misdemeanor bail jumping.
Just giving you info while you are not here.
Just going through the charges. Feel free to read backwards.
I'm an attorney and I'm at work on your question today.
well the first charge is the important one. I think the officer will show up to court on thursday. So im not sure if I will have hte ticket dismissed.
However, if the officer shows up...can hte officer indicate to judge to reduce the charge?? I think the violation will cost me 2 pts on my dirving record.
why do you think the traffic charge is most important?
The traffic charge is only an infraction. So when you say reduce, you mean only as pertainsn to the penalty?
yes. Its the most important bc the penalty is 2 pts on my driving record with no traffic school and the fine. the failure to appear I think will be rediced or dropped.
The DA/Judge or Magistrate can give you the minimum I would assume, which would be the penalty that a first offender gets. Fine not greater than $500 and possible not mandatory license suspension for 30 days
Do you have a lawyer on these?
tell me, for that charge, how many times have you had it?
first time. I asked the judge to reduce it last month and he said no. the clerk said that for driving 110mph that it would be 2 pts on driving record and no traffic school. that is why im worried.
How many points do you have total on your license?
How many month did you get them?
and last thing I need to know is how old you are and if you drive a commercial vehicle
are you under 18?
Are you worried about Nevada making you do this or California?
Because in California, two points isn't enough
I'm asking becuase from what I can see, there is no instantaneous problem with having two points in california
If you still want the information, I have it. I am happy to work with you. I do often have to get inforrrmation to give it, so I apologize for that.
yes please provide this information. I will be having my trial tomorrow so I want to knwo waht I can do. I am hoping the officer does not show up but it looks like he will. I would then want to just to a straight plea and get out of there.
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).