Looking for custody advice in the state of maine .i have two
Looking for custody advice in the state of maine .i have two children whose mother was recently released from incarceration for vehicular manslaughter.in the current agreement, I have sole decision maki rights. Just wondering what my options are moving forward if she decides to go after joint custody
If the registered owner of a vehicle sells that vehicle to
If the registered owner of a vehicle sells that vehicle to another person without a legally recognized transfer of title, does the original owner retain liability for damage or death caused by that vehicle in an accident or its use in the commission of a crime?
Attorney and Counselor at Law
Doctor of Jurisprudence
Local police dept failed to order blood test in accident situation
Local police dept failed to order blood test in accident situation wherein drunk driver struck and killed my 90 year-old Mother. The DA could not prosecute for vehicular manslaughter due to lack of evidence (cause by police dept). My Mother died 16 days after the accident. The driver pled guilty to DWI (felony offense since prior within 8 years). Sentence was only 8 weekends in county jail and 5 years probation. The investigating officer in the case is the son of the chief of police. IF the police had contacted the DA's office for the blood test, the results would have been different and the driver would have received a more justifiable sentence. My attorney advised me to file a complaint against the police dept. and send a copy to the local newspaper. This is New York State, Monroe County. I am appalled at how the case was NOT handled properly. I am not a litigious person - just want the public to know why and what happened - and to be sure it doesn't happen to someone in the future.
I have another. If a couple has been married for lets says
I have another. If a couple has been married for lets says 10 years, the wife is incarceratd and the husband has been forced to soley care for the two children for 2 or 3 years. He has file for divorce 9/2/2010. He is in the process of the divorce, the wifes name is XXXXX XXXXX house with the wife's mother having power of attorney over her daughter. The plaintiff (husband) is still living in the house and is having a hard time paying the mortgage.1. Can the wife and or mother in law have him thrown out of the house even though he's taking care of the kids.2. Will he have the upper hand at getting custody since she's in jail for vehicular manslaughter?3. Will he be entitiled to half of the value of the house.4. Is the grandmother capable of getting custody for any reason while the daughter is still in jail?May I just say when the mother went to jail she told her 7 & 8 years old that she was going away to school, the children have visited her & are not stupid! The can I'm sure clearly see she is in jail! The father doesn't have the heart (guts) to correct her lie to them.What are the fathers advantages of getting custody & walking away from this divorce with a feeling of getting what he deserves after going through all of this, due to her druckeness & killing someone under the influence (she will only do 2/3 years for this I might add)! Will the wife end up with sole custody? All he is seeking is residently custody. Please make note of the many questions here & I'm hoping you can answer all of them pertaining to the New York laws. Thanks much
Hi, Im trying to follow a divorce case due to my relationship
Hi, I'm trying to follow a divorce case due to my relationship with the plaintiff. The case is being held in Riverhead, NY. Things are too complicated right now for my boyfriend to handle anything else, therfor I'm left without what is happening. I'm concerned that his wife that is currently in jail for vehicular manslaughter, and the wife's mother are really hitting him hard. The last appearance according to the case file in the system says the the plaintiff & plaintiffs attorned didn't show. I'm sure there are many reasons why this might happen, but am looking for a few educated guesses. Anything would be helpful to me. Thanks
I have a friend in jail in Carroll County, Arkansas, charged
I have a friend in jail in Carroll County, Arkansas, charged with Manslaughter in a case anyone else would have been charged with negligent homicide (Arkansas's equivalent of vehicular manslaughter). His pro bono attorney believes manslaughter is an overcharge, and the correct charge should be a Class A Misdemeanor. The prosecuting attorney says he believes he could make a case for Murder 2 (possibly due to my friend's 2 prior criminal convictions unrelated to driving.The definition of Manslaughter in Arkansas includes the phrase "The person recklessly causes the death of another person." The word "recklessly" is a term of art. How does Blacks define "recklessly", and what does the prosecuting attorney have to prove to make the charge stick?