How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Lev Your Own Question
Lev, Tax Advisor
Category: Tax
Satisfied Customers: 28081
Experience:  Taxes, Immigration, Labor Relations
Type Your Tax Question Here...
Lev is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Recourse vs. Non-Recourse Debt I have a residential rental

Resolved Question:

Recourse vs. Non-Recourse Debt

I have a residential rental property that was foreclosed on in 2011. I'm in one state, the mortgage lender is another, and the rental property is another. I received a 1099-A and am reporting it on Form 4797, but I'm not sure which state's debt laws I am subject to. The 1099-A says that I am personally liable for the debt, but I live in California, which is a Non-Recourse state. Is the loan a Recourse loan because the lender and the rental property are in Recourse states? How do I determine which Recourse/Non-Recourse laws apply to me?
Submitted: 4 years ago.
Category: Tax
Expert:  Lev replied 4 years ago.


Hi and welcome to Just Answer!


The law wich should be applied in your situation is where the property is located - in your situation - in California.


However that doesn't mean all California mortgages are Non-Recourse - your specific loan may be Recourse or Non-Recourse depending on circumstances. For instance - purchase money mortgages, which are mortgages where the borrowed funds are used to purchase the house, are generally treated as non-recourse debt. But if you refinance and take cash out - part of that amount might be a Recourse Debt.
You will find more information on following pages


I live in California and my forclosed rental property was in Georgia. So then I would be subject to Georgia's recourse laws?


That is correct - sorry for confusion - if the propery is in GA - GA laws should be used.


Georgia is NOT a nonrecourse state. OCGA § 44-14-161 allows creditors to obtain a deficiency jugment if the foreclosure sale is reported to a judge within 30 days of sale.

Lev and 3 other Tax Specialists are ready to help you

Related Tax Questions