How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Stephanie O Joy, Esq Your Own Question

Stephanie O Joy, Esq
Stephanie O Joy, Esq, Soc. Sec. Attorney
Category: Social Security
Satisfied Customers: 11709
Experience:  19+ years legal exp. - 10+ years owning/operating her own SSD Law practice.
10805288
Type Your Social Security Question Here...
Stephanie O Joy, Esq is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

For Stephanie or Alexia. In case of CDR review -- what is he

Resolved Question:

For Stephanie or Alexia. In case of CDR review -- what is he function of "disability analyst"? Is it a person who makes the intital decsion on the CDR? Or this person main function is to collect the necessary information and send it out to someone else in the SSA office for determination of disability? If this person makes a decsion on wherther to approve or disapprove CDR -- does someone else has to review his/her decsion at SSA office?
Submitted: 11 months ago.
Category: Social Security
Expert:  Rachel-Mod replied 11 months ago.
Hello,
I'm Rachel, and I’m a moderator for this topic. I sent your requested professional a message to follow up with you here, when they are back online. 
If I can help further, please let me know. Thank you for your continued patience.
Best,
Rachel 
Expert:  Lindie-Moderator replied 11 months ago.

Hello again, :)


I wanted to touch base to see if you still wanted to wait for your requested professional? Or if you prefer me to open your question to all the professionals.


We sincerely XXXXX XXXXX the extended wait time.

Thank you,

Lindie

Expert:  Stephanie O Joy, Esq replied 11 months ago.
Good morning, and thank you for your patience! I received word that you requested my assistance.

For Stephanie or Alexia. In case of CDR review -- what is he function of "disability analyst"? This has many names, "adjudicator", analyst, claims examiner, etc.

Is it a person who makes the intital decsion on the CDR? Yes. Or this person main function is to collect the necessary information and send it out to someone else in the SSA office for determination of disability? He usually does both, facilitates medical records requests, info from claimant/beneficiary, medical opinion from state agency medical expert, etc.

If this person makes a decsion on wherther to approve or disapprove CDR -- does someone else has to review his/her decsion at SSA office? He has a boss, if that is what you mean. But if there is a medical expert whose opinion he find valid, he will use that to support his decision. Sometimes cases are randomly audited as well. But generally, yes, I'd consider him your main person to persuade.


I hope this helps! My goal is to provide you with excellent and accurate service – if you feel you have gotten anything less, please reply back, I am happy to address follow-up questions. Kindly rate me "excellent" when you are done. I look forward to assisting you in the future, should you have legal questions.

Sincerely,

Stephanie

Customer: replied 11 months ago.


I talked to the disability analyst on my CDR and she said that she will be reviewing it shortly. If it is a clear cut case -- how long does it take for her to review it after she starts doing it-- and after her review is complete -- how long does it take to receive the decsion in the mail? Is there a way to check electronicly where CDR is in the process of being reviewed (without calling the disability analyst).

Expert:  Stephanie O Joy, Esq replied 11 months ago.

I talked to the disability analyst on my CDR and she said that she will be reviewing it shortly. If it is a clear cut case -- how long does it take for her to review it after she starts doing it-- I think that would depend on her. and after her review is complete -- how long does it take to receive the decsion in the mail? I would expect a decision to be very shortly after she is done. As in, DAYS. This is because they are under the gun to move these things out and if there is nothing to wait for, such as more records, or a medical expert's opinion, it would be her neck on the line if it was decided but just sitting there, still on her docket, so to speak.

Is there a way to check electronicly where CDR is in the process of being reviewed (without calling the disability analyst).
Not that I know of. Even in the regular claim process, even though the SSA site encourages claimants check in, the info is canned and doesn't provide any real info, just a generic phrase, such as "in process" or some other unhelpful nonsense.

Personally, no news is good news, so I'd not bother her too much, certainly not more than every 2 months.

I hope this helps! My goal is to provide you with excellent and accurate service – if you feel you have gotten anything less, please reply back, I am happy to address follow-up questions. Kindly rate me "excellent" when you are done. I look forward to assisting you in the future, should you have legal questions.

Sincerely,

Stephanie

Stephanie O Joy, Esq, Soc. Sec. Attorney
Category: Social Security
Satisfied Customers: 11709
Experience: 19+ years legal exp. - 10+ years owning/operating her own SSD Law practice.
Stephanie O Joy, Esq and other Social Security Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I really was impressed with the prompt response. Your expert was not only a tax expert, but a people expert!!! Her genuine and caring attitude came across in her response... T.G.W Matteson, IL
< Last | Next >
  • I really was impressed with the prompt response. Your expert was not only a tax expert, but a people expert!!! Her genuine and caring attitude came across in her response... T.G.W Matteson, IL
  • I WON!!! I just wanted you to know that your original answer gave me the courage and confidence to go into yesterday's audit ready to fight. Bonnie Chesnee, SC
  • Great service. Answered my complex tax question in detail and provided a lot of additional useful information for my specific situation. John Minneapolis, MN
  • Excellent information, very quick reply. The experts really take the time to address your questions, it is well worth the fee, for the peace of mind they can provide you with. Orville Hesperia, California
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • dylatess

    ATTORNEY

    Satisfied Customers:

    3086
    35 plus years of SSD practice
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DY/Dylatess/2012-9-11_1968_BHBTemplePhoto.64x64.jpg dylatess's Avatar

    dylatess

    ATTORNEY

    Satisfied Customers:

    3086
    35 plus years of SSD practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MY/MyVirtualCPA/2012-7-5_44024_cookmegan1.64x64.jpg Megan C's Avatar

    Megan C

    Certified Public Accountant (CPA)

    Satisfied Customers:

    3247
    Licensed CPA, CMA, CFE M.Accy Also Teach Accounting courses at Master's Level
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/LawTalk/2012-6-6_17379_LawTalk.64x64.JPG LawTalk's Avatar

    LawTalk

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    1138
    I have 30 years of legal and litigation experience, including representing clients before the U.S. Social Security Administration.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FA/fastfile/2011-12-15_23139_Klein2011small.64x64.jpg R. Klein, EA's Avatar

    R. Klein, EA

    Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    254
    Tax matters relating to Social Security Benefits only
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    188
    Licensed in multiple jurisdictions, experienced business attorney.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    137
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CU/Cuttinggirl/2011-10-29_03719_wcrop2.64x64.jpg Wendy Reed's Avatar

    Wendy Reed

    Enrolled Agent

    Satisfied Customers:

    83
    15+ years assisting tax clients with taxation and eligibility of Social Security Benefits.