How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Russell H. Your Own Question

Russell H.
Russell H., Service Tech
Category: Smartphones
Satisfied Customers: 9517
Experience:  8+ years of professional experience
13568747
Type Your Smartphones Question Here...
Russell H. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I have a "new used" BB passport silver edition which has the

Customer Question

I have a "new used" BB passport silver edition which has the BB protect activated on it so I cannot enter my own BB ID. How do i do a security wipe if I don't have the previous BBid or password ***** when the device was set up originally?
Submitted: 8 months ago.
Category: Smartphones
Expert:  Russell H. replied 8 months ago.

Hi, thank you for contacting JustAnswer.com. My name is Russell. I will do my best to provide the right answer to your question.

First, swipe down and get the MENU.

Press SETTINGS.

Scroll down to Security And Privacy.

Scroll down to Security Wipe.

In Security Wipe, enter

blackberry

as the 'password' for the operation, and click on

Delete Data

and it may take a while, but you will get a factory-condition Blackberry after that.

If the overall password ***** enter the Settings or the Menu is not changed, ask whoever you bought it from for it. If they don't know, then they have sold you something useless to you.

Unless this works:

1. have Blackberry Desktop on your computer.

2. connect the BB to the computer, and do a Backup of the data on it.

3. unplug the BB from the computer, and hold down the Power button on it to force it to power Off.

4. then while it is Off, with Blackberry Desktop still on your computer, connect it to the computer. You should see a prompt for

Retry? Update? Cancel?

and quickly choose Update.

That will wipe the Blackberry. I hope - these instructions are for a different, possibly older and less secure model.