How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Randy Your Own Question
Randy
Randy, Customer Service
Category: Smartphones
Satisfied Customers: 9488
Experience:  Expert in service and repair of all Smartphones.
62741268
Type Your Smartphones Question Here...
Randy is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I had to have a new screen put on my I6. Now the touch ID no

Customer Question

I had to have a new screen put on my I6. Now the touch ID no longer works. I've tried resetting the finger print this but it won't let me . Can you help?
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Smartphones
Expert:  Randy replied 1 year ago.

I am sorry this happened. You will need to determine if this is a firmware or hardware issue. This could be a glitch in the firmware and the iPhone needs to be restored.

  • The only option to rule out the firmware in the iPhone will be a factory restore.
  • The process for restoring an iPhone begins by wiping the iPhone, which puts it into the same clean state it was when you first got it out of the box.
  • But before you take this step, you must make sure your iPhone has been backed up to the iCloud.
  • You can verify your iCloud backup by going into the iPhones settings and choosing iCloud from the menu.
  • In the iCloud settings, choose Storage and Backup. This will take you to a screen that will display the last time the iPhone was backed up to iCloud.
  • Once you verify the backup, you are ready to begin the process. You will start by erasing all data and settings from the iPhone, which puts it into a clean state,
  • Go to General from the Settings icon. . Scroll all the way down in the General settings until you see "Reset".
  • From this menu, choose "Erase All Content and Settings".
  • Once this complete, go through the initial set up and then choose to restore from a backup, you will be taken to a screen where you can choose from your last backup.