How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Lee Your Own Question

Lee
Lee, ASE Certified Technician
Category: Saturn
Satisfied Customers: 395
Experience:  31 years experience ASE Master Technician
19679497
Type Your Saturn Question Here...
Lee is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

99 saturn: EGR..It failed inspection, they..disconnected..failures

Customer Question

Can anyone tell me the general cost to reflash the computer of a '99 Saturn SL2? I had to replace the battery and EGR valuve before inspection. It failed inspection, they said, because the battery was disconnected and it produced 4 failures because they are "not ready". After a number of attempts to drive 80 miles, a number of drive cycles resulting in another 200 miles over the course of 5 days, the inspection center still see's these failures. They suggest getting the computer reflashed. Sound right?

Thanks,
Ron in Texas
Submitted: 4 years ago.
Category: Saturn
Expert:  Lee replied 4 years ago.

Hi! Ron

 

Welcome to Just answers

 

Did you go through the drive cycle step by step? If you did not preform the drive cycle like it should be done. Then go through it step by step. Do not be quick to reflash the ECM. The cost to reflash in my area is $125.00. You should be able to get it done for about $100.00 to $175.00 depending on where you live.

 

Lee

Customer: replied 4 years ago.

Thanks Lee! I appreciate the response.I don't have a specific step by step guide. I mentioned the drive cycles in my inital question because I remember hearing somewhere that a cycle would be something like driving 40 miles and turning off the engine for 15 minutes, then repeat a couple of times. In essence, that's what I did. Does that sound even close? Do you have a suggestion as to where I would find step by step instructions?

 

Thanks,

Ron

Expert:  Lee replied 4 years ago.

try this:

 

Let car cool down for 8 hours.

turn all acc. off. start and let idle for 5 min in park.

drive at 45 for 2 min. (do not drop under)

drive at 55 for 5 min. (do not drop under)

let off the gas and let the car coast from 55 down to 40 on it's own. (NO BRAKE)

slowly accel back up to 55. Do this 4 times.

come to a stop and let idle in drive for 2 min. (all acc off. including heater)

 

See if this will work for you.

Lee, ASE Certified Technician
Category: Saturn
Satisfied Customers: 395
Experience: 31 years experience ASE Master Technician
Lee and other Saturn Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 4 years ago.

That is great information Lee. Wow, (lol) I wasn't even close!Embarassed I had no idea it was that involved.

 

Ok, I'll give that a try. I can't express how much I appreciate your help and advice! I will be pleased to leave positive feedback for you!

 

Regards,

Ron

Expert:  Lee replied 4 years ago.

Thank You! Have a good weekend.

 

Lee

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
< Last | Next >
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
  • He answered my question promptly and gave me accurate, detailed information. If all of your experts are half as good, you have a great thing going here. Diane Dallas, TX
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • 15yearsaturnguy

    Saturn master tech

    Satisfied Customers:

    1671
    25 years automotive experience, 15 years with Saturn
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BA/bassplayer360/2011-7-23_14023_mikeheadshot.64x64.jpg 15yearsaturnguy's Avatar

    15yearsaturnguy

    Saturn master tech

    Satisfied Customers:

    1671
    25 years automotive experience, 15 years with Saturn
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/joecamel90/2008-11-13_03615_head_shot.jpg George H.'s Avatar

    George H.

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    650
    ASE Master Tech 15+ Years
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PE/peterpete190/2012-2-24_1274_20120215135406.64x64.jpg Pete's Avatar

    Pete

    Saturn Mechanic

    Satisfied Customers:

    531
    15 years Saturn Technician experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/drivefast1971/2012-1-12_172422_0009051tQKh.64x64.jpg Ron Z.'s Avatar

    Ron Z.

    - Saturn Tech -

    Satisfied Customers:

    391
    18+yrs experience. State Inspector and Saturn Diagnostics
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/testedtuff/2009-09-26_170108_pictures.jpg John's Avatar

    John

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    375
    Master ASE technician,Master GM technician,40 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/Rocket2005/2009-09-13_133703_jack.jpg cartech's Avatar

    cartech

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    305
    25 year master tech and shop owner
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MO/molurch/2012-6-6_214526_500.64x64.png Don 'Mo Lurch''s Avatar

    Don 'Mo Lurch'

    Saturn Mechanic

    Satisfied Customers:

    270
    GM, Chevrolet Cert., Heavy Line Mech, Race Shop Owner, Mobile Electronics.